Dispatches from Parts Unknown

by Bryan Bliss

On Sale: 05/07/2024

Dispatches from Parts Unknown

Enlarge Book Cover

Dispatches from Parts Unknown

by Bryan Bliss

On Sale: 05/07/2024

Format:

About the Book

“The feel-good novel of the year.” —ALA Booklist (starred review)

Julie knows it’s unusual that a professional wrestler runs a constant commentary on her life that only she can hear. But grief can be awfully funny sometimes. National Book Award nominee Bryan Bliss delivers a thought-provoking, one-of-a-kind novel about how to tread the line between moving on and holding on. Dispatches from Parts Unknown is for fans of David Arnold, Nina LaCour, and You’ve Reached Sam

Ever since her dad died three years ago, Julie has been surviving more than thriving. And surviving is sneaking into her parents’ closet when her mom is out, since it’s the only place that still sometimes smells like her dad. It’s roaming around the Mall of America. It’s pulling out the box of her dad’s VHS tapes, recordings of his favorite vintage professional wrestling matches.

And it’s hearing the voice of the Masked Man in her head, running a commentary of her life.

It’s embarrassing, really. Sure, he was her dad’s favorite wrestler, but that doesn’t mean she wants him in her head.

As Julie finally starts to come out of the haze of grief, maybe she’ll finally figure out why that voice is there, and how to let it go.

Critical Praise

“Since her dad died three years ago, 18-year-old Julie has been having ongoing conversations with an imagined professional wrestler, the Masked Man, who lives in her head. . . . One of the joys of this terrific, character-driven novel is watching these lives intersect. . . . Julie’s grief for her dead father gives a poignancy that adds depth to her character and is never maudlin. . . . The engaging tone of this terrific novel is spot on, while Bliss demonstrates a welcome gift for dialogue. . . . The feel-good novel of the year.” — Booklist (starred review)

“Julie’s wryly funny, self-deprecating, and authentic narrative voice, the wide cast of eccentric but realistically drawn characters . . . and the beautiful, unshowy writing will keep readers going all the way to the auspicious end. A smart, poignant meditation on losing someone you love and living with the loss.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Bliss writes incisively about grief, approaching a weighty topic with empathy, grace, and genial humor. Sweet, caring relationships—parental, platonic, and romantic—add to the uplifting tone.” — Publishers Weekly

“Bliss ably balances humor, poignancy, and raw grief, emphasizing that mourning looks like all sorts of things.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062962270
  • ISBN 10: 0062962272
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 05/07/2024
  • Pages: 288
  • List Price:24.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Death & Dying
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Literary
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings
  • BISAC4 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Humorous / Black Comedy
  • BISAC5 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / Parents

Dispatches from Parts Unknown by Bryan Bliss

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.