Thoughts & Prayers

A Novel in Three Parts

by Bryan Bliss

On Sale: 09/29/2020

Thoughts & Prayers

Enlarge Book Cover

Thoughts & Prayers

A Novel in Three Parts

by Bryan Bliss

On Sale: 09/29/2020

Format:

About the Book

"In his unflinching and resonant new novel, Bryan Bliss shows that there is no straight line through trauma, no easy recipe for healing. Instead, in three loosely connected stories of young people bound by an all-too familiar tragedy, he deftly illuminates the small  moments of human connection and resolve that might just lead to a place of grace."—Gayle Forman, bestselling author of If I Stay and I Have Lost My Way

Fight. Flight. Freeze. What do you do when you can’t move on, even though the rest of the world seems to have? 

For readers of Jason Reynolds, Marieke Nijkamp, and Laurie Halse Anderson. Powerful and tense, Thoughts & Prayers is an extraordinary novel that explores what it means to heal and to feel safe in a world that constantly chooses violence.

Claire, Eleanor, and Brezzen have little in common. Claire fled to Minnesota with her older brother, Eleanor is the face of a social movement, and Brezzen retreated into the fantasy world of Wizards & Warriors.

But a year ago, they were linked. They all hid under the same staircase and heard the shots that took the lives of some of their classmates and a teacher. Now, each one copes with the trauma as best as they can, even as the world around them keeps moving.

Told in three loosely connected but inextricably intertwined stories, National Book Award–longlisted author Bryan Bliss’s Thoughts & Prayers follows three high school students in the aftermath of a school shooting. Thoughts & Prayers is a story about gun violence, but more importantly it is the story of what happens after the reporters leave and the news cycle moves on to the next tragedy. It is the story of three unforgettable teens who feel forgotten.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

"In his unflinching and resonant new novel, Bryan Bliss shows that there is no straight line through trauma, no easy recipe for healing. Instead, in three loosely connected stories of young people bound by an all-too familiar tragedy, he deftly illuminates the small  moments of human connection and resolve that might just lead to a place of grace." - Gayle Forman, bestselling author of If I Stay and I Have Lost My Way

“About one year ago, three students cowered together under a staircase during a mass shooting in their school. Now, each one is attempting to move on with life in their own way. . . . The characters are real and likable, and their trauma is honest and raw. Bliss raises unanswerable questions that will allow teenage readers room to reflect and debate. . . . An affecting story of trauma and healing.” - Kirkus Reviews

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062962249
  • ISBN 10: 0062962248
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 09/29/2020
  • Pages: 448
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / School & Education / General
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Violence
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Literary

Thoughts & Prayers by Bryan Bliss

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.