Not My Problem

by Ciara Smyth

On Sale: 05/25/2021

Not My Problem

Enlarge Book Cover

Not My Problem

by Ciara Smyth

On Sale: 05/25/2021

Format:

YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults

About the Book

Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Nina LaCour, this queer coming-of-age story from the author of The Falling in Love Montage is wry, multilayered, and unflinchingly honest.

Aideen has plenty of problems she can’t solve. But when she stumbles upon overachiever Meabh Kowalska having a full-blown meltdown, she sees one that she can actually fix. Meabh is desperate to escape her crushing pile of extracurriculars. Aideen volunteers to help—by pushing her down the stairs.

Problem? Solved. Meabh’s sprained ankle is the perfect excuse to ditch her overwhelming schedule. But when one of their classmates learns about their little scheme, more “clients” start asking for Aideen’s “help”—kicking off a semester of traded favors, ill-advised hijinks, and even an unexpected chance at love.

Fixing other people’s problems won’t fix her own. But it might be the push Aideen needs to start.

Critical Praise

"Witty and engaging. Will hook readers immediately." — School Library Journal (starred review)

"Often hilarious, tart, and sarcastic; often heart-tuggingly poignant; always completely authentic and compulsively readable." — Horn Book Magazine

“Engaging and enjoyable. A noteworthy take on vulnerability and seeking help that doesn’t offer platitudes.” — Kirkus Reviews

Praise for The Falling in Love Montage:  “An emotionally stirring queer romance with witty, playful dialogue.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Delightfully brash and no-nonsense. Pleasantly and audaciously fills a gap in queer romance.”
Kirkus Reviews

"A meet-cute in the style of Jenny Han, and just as sweet and cinematic as YA rom-com fans will expect." — Booklist

“A snarky and sincere romp through meet-cutes and grand romantic gestures, this book is a must-read for fans of Becky Albertali and Morgan Matson.” —   Ashley Poston, author of Geekerella and The Princess and the Fangirl

“A joyous, hilarious, big-hearted book with the kind of electric, rollicking voice that makes you want to live in its pages forever.” — Jeff Zentner, Morris Award-winning author of Rayne & Delilah's Midnite Matinee

“A charming romp of a rom-com about the delights and terrors of falling in love. Saoirse is a heroine for the ages; she is smart, flawed, funny, and—when she lets her guard down—achingly vulnerable. This book will make your heart sing. Read it.” —  Misa Sugiura, award-winning author of It's Not Like It's a Secret and This Time Will Be Different

“A book that manages to be both tenderly gutting and absolutely hilarious. I want to be best friends with Saoirse Clarke.” —  Dahlia Adler, author of Under the Lights

“A slow-burn summer romance narrated by a beautifully snarky heroine who likes to pretend that she doesn’t have a heart of gold. This book was made for those endless-feeling summer nights.” —  Aminah Mae Safi, author of Not the Girls You're Looking For and Tell Me How You Really Feel

“Everything I wanted and so much more. How refreshing to read about two girls who like girls who find each other in the perfect meet cute. You’ll want to read this one again and again.” — Jaye Robin Brown, author of Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit and The Meaning of Birds

“The romantic story all queer girls deserve: funny, flirty, and absolutely perfect.” — Camryn Garrett, author of Full Disclosure

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062957146
  • ISBN 10: 0062957147
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 05/25/2021
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / LGBT
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Loners & Outcasts
  • BISAC4 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC5 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Drugs, Alcohol, Substance Abuse

Not My Problem by Ciara Smyth

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.