The Poppy Wife

A Novel of the Great War

by Caroline Scott

On Sale: 11/05/2019

Enlarge Book Cover

The Poppy Wife

A Novel of the Great War

by Caroline Scott

On Sale: 11/05/2019

Format:

About the Book

In the tradition of Jennifer Robson and Hazel Gaynor, this unforgettable debut novel is a sweeping tale of forbidden love, profound loss, and the startling truth of the broken families left behind in the wake of World War I.

1921. Survivors of the Great War are desperately trying to piece together the fragments of their broken lives. While many have been reunited with their loved ones, Edie’s husband Francis has not come home. Francis is presumed to have been killed in action, but Edie believes he might still be alive.

Harry, Francis’s brother, was there the day Francis was wounded. He was certain it was a fatal wound—that he saw his brother die—but as time passes, Harry begins questioning his memory of what happened. Could Francis, like many soldiers, merely be lost and confused somewhere? Hired by grieving families, Harry returns to the Western Front to photograph gravesites. As he travels through battle-scarred France and Belgium gathering news for British wives and mothers, he searches for evidence of Francis.

When Edie receives a mysterious photograph of Francis, she is more convinced than ever he might still be alive. And so, she embarks on a journey in the hope of finding some trace of her husband. Is he truly gone? And if he isn’t, then why hasn’t he come home?

As Harry and Edie’s paths converge, they get closer to the truth about Francis and, as they do, are faced with the life-changing impact of the answers they discover.

Artful and incredibly moving, The Poppy Wife tells the unforgettable story of the soldiers lost amid the chaos and ruins, and those who were desperate to find them.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“A beautiful, tender novel which explores the aftermath of the Great War, and the shattered lives left behind. Written with gorgeous prose and a cast of memorable characters, this is a stunning debut which had me spellbound from the first page to the last.” - Hazel Gaynor, New York Times bestselling author of The Lighthouse Keeper’s Daughter

“Scott says outright what Hemingway could only imply. Masterfully-wrought, with patiently-crafted characters, this World War I narrative enthralls from start to finish. I literally could not put it down. Sheer brilliance.” - Teresa Messineo, author of The Fire By Night

“A tribute to remembrance, The Poppy Wife is one of the most meticulously researched WWI novels I have read. Scott’s characters rise off the page with passion, heartache, and unbreakable hope.” - Sarah McCoy, New York Times and international bestselling author of Marilla of Green Gables

“Part mystery, part love story, and part exploration of the aftermath of World War I, The Poppy Wife by Caroline Scott is a beautifully written, haunting novel. Scott masterfully weaves a layered story of both personal tragedy and redemption, filled with rich historical detail and lyrical prose.” - Jillian Cantor, USA Today bestselling author of The Lost Letter and In Another Time

“A lyrical page-turner, The Poppy Wife is both a love story and a profound meditation on the paradoxes of war…a powerful, redemptive novel, one that teaches us not only about history, but about our capacity for love.” - Abigail DeWitt, author of News of Our Loved Ones

“Scott’s bold novel, inspired by her own family history, is instantly appealing for historical fiction fans. But the timeless story of love, loyalty, and honor will have appeal for readers of all interests.” - Publishers Weekly

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062955326
  • ISBN 10: 0062955322
  • Imprint: William Morrow Paperbacks
  • On Sale: 11/05/2019
  • Pages: 448
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • BISAC1 : Undefined Category
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Romance / Historical / 20th Century
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Contemporary Women

The Poppy Wife by Caroline Scott

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.