The Ocean in Your Bathtub

by Seth Fishman, Isabel Greenberg

On Sale: 05/19/2020

The Ocean in Your Bathtub

by Seth Fishman

illustrated by Isabel Greenberg

On Sale: 05/19/2020

Format:

IndieBound Indie Next List

About the Book

Perfect for curious kids!

From shore to suburb, the ocean connects all of us in unexpected ways—through the weather, our water, our food sources, and more! In their signature informative and child-friendly style, the award-winning creators of A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars explore how the ocean affects everyone, no matter where they live, and how everyone affects the ocean. Fans of Jess Keating's Shark Lady and Kate Messner’s The Brilliant Deep will be hooked. This nonfiction picture book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 4 to 6. It’s a fun way to learn to read and as a supplement for activity books for children.

Did you know that oceans cover 71 percent of our planet and contain 97 percent of the Earth’s water? That seven out of every ten breaths you take contains oxygen that comes from oceanic plant life? No matter how far from the ocean you live, it is part of your life, every single day. And you are part of the ocean’s life, too. Every time you flush the toilet or throw something away, you might be sending it to the ocean—and every time you do a good deed, such as pick up litter or recycle, you are helping the ocean!

Acclaimed creators Seth Fishman and Isabel Greenberg explore how the Earth’s five oceans affect daily life for everyone on the planet, presenting surprising information about the ocean ecosystem in a fun, accessible story.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“This picture book sparkles with a mix of basic and surprising information about oceans. . . . The illustrations are a perfect match—amusing and informative, with some unexpected details. . . . A fabulous find.” - School Library Journal (starred review)

“A wealth of information . . . [The] text covers unexpected ways in which the ocean affects our everyday life . . . [and] how we owe the ocean better treatment." - ALA Booklist

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062953360
  • ISBN 10: 0062953362
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 05/19/2020
  • Pages: 40
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Science & Nature / Earth Sciences / Water (Oceans, Lakes, etc.)
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Science & Nature / General (see also headings under Animals or Technology)
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Science & Nature / Environmental Science & Ecosystems

The Ocean in Your Bathtub by Seth Fishman

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.