Muse Squad: The Cassandra Curse

by Chantel Acevedo

On Sale: 07/07/2020

Muse Squad: The Cassandra Curse

Enlarge Book Cover

Muse Squad: The Cassandra Curse

by Chantel Acevedo

On Sale: 07/07/2020

Format:

About the Book

The first in an action-packed debut middle grade fantasy duology about a Cuban American girl who discovers that she’s one of the nine Muses of Greek mythology. Perfect for fans of The Serpent’s Secret, the Aru Shah series, and the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series.

Callie Martinez-Silva didn’t mean to turn her best friend into a pop star. But when a simple pep talk leads to miraculous results, Callie learns she’s the newest muse of epic poetry, one of the nine Muses of Greek mythology tasked with protecting humanity’s fate in secret.

Whisked away to Muse Headquarters, she joins three recruits her age, who call themselves the Muse Squad. Together, the junior muses are tasked with using their magic to inspire and empower—not an easy feat when you’re eleven and still figuring out the goddess within.

When their first assignment turns out to be Callie’s exceptionally nerdy classmate, Maya Rivero, the squad comes to Miami to stay with Callie and her Cuban family. There, they discover that Maya doesn’t just need inspiration, she needs saving from vicious Sirens out to unleash a curse that will corrupt her destiny.

As chaos erupts, will the Muse Squad be able to master their newfound powers in time to thwart the Cassandra Curse . . . or will it undo them all?

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“A charming and imaginative tale brimming with magic, friendship, loss, and love. Readers will be wishing for a muse of their own.” - J. C. Cervantes, New York Times bestselling author of The Storm Runner

“Chantel Acevedo’s middle grade debut is a wonderful reminder that we are all worthy of magic. Every kid will want Callie Martinez-Silva to inspire the (s)hero within. ¡Bravo!” - Pablo Cartaya, critically acclaimed author of Each Tiny Spark

“A refreshingly new adventure steeped in familiar mythology, where all people are worthy of magic. Muse Squad is a supernatural pick-me-up, a rare book that inspires laughter, tears, curiosity, and heroic purpose. Acevedo centers teamwork and community in a beautiful reimagining of what makes a hero.” - Anna Meriano, author of the Love Sugar Magic series

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062947697
  • ISBN 10: 0062947699
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 07/07/2020
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / General
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Bullying
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Legends, Myths, Fables / Greek & Roman

Muse Squad: The Cassandra Curse by Chantel Acevedo

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.