Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls

by Kaela Rivera

On Sale: 04/13/2021

Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls

Enlarge Book Cover

Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls

by Kaela Rivera

On Sale: 04/13/2021

Format:

About the Book

When a powerful desert spirit kidnaps her sister, Cece Rios must learn forbidden magic to get her back, in this own voices middle grade fantasy perfect for fans of The Storm Runner and Aru Shah and the End of Time

Living in the remote town of Tierra del Sol is dangerous, especially in the criatura months, when powerful spirits roam the desert and threaten humankind. But Cecelia Rios has always believed there was more to the criaturas, much to her family’s disapproval. After all, only brujas—humans who capture and control criaturas—consort with the spirits, and brujeria is a terrible crime.

When her older sister, Juana, is kidnapped by El Sombrerón, a powerful dark criatura, Cece is determined to bring Juana back. To get into Devil’s Alley, though, she’ll have to become a bruja herself—while hiding her quest from her parents, her town, and the other brujas. Thankfully, the legendary criatura Coyote has a soft spot for humans and agrees to help her on her journey.

With him at her side, Cece sets out to reunite her family—and maybe even change what it means to be a bruja along the way.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

"An astonishing and moving tale infused with spirit and unforgettable magic."
-   ­J.C. Cervantes, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Storm Runner series 

"Flush with incredible worldbuilding, mucho español throughout, and an unforgettable cast, this book reminds us that our greatest strengths can sometimes be found in the unlikeliest of places." - Pablo Cartaya, award-winning author of The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora   

"Pokemon meets Coco in a spirited and moving adventure, at once familiar and tantalizingly strange, peopled by beautifully crafted and vivid characters." - David Bowles, award-winning author of They Call Me Güero

“A new Narnia full of desert heat and danger, Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls mixes familiar myth, inventive magic, and vivid characters to capture readers.”  - Anna Meriano, author of the Love Sugar Magic series

“A beautifully written fantasy story with tons of heart!” - Ryan Calejo, author of the Charlie Hernández series

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062947550
  • ISBN 10: 0062947559
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 04/13/2021
  • Pages: 352
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Legends, Myths, Fables / Caribbean & Latin American
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / Mexico
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Siblings

Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls by Kaela Rivera

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.