Yusuf Azeem Is Not a Hero

by Saadia Faruqi

On Sale: 09/07/2021

Yusuf Azeem Is Not a Hero

Enlarge Book Cover

Yusuf Azeem Is Not a Hero

by Saadia Faruqi

On Sale: 09/07/2021

Format:

About the Book

At a time when we are all asking questions about identity, grief, and how to stand up for what is right, this book by the author of A Thousand Questions will hit home with young readers who love Hena Khan and Varian Johnson—or anyone struggling to understand recent U.S. history and how it still affects us today.  

Yusuf Azeem has spent all his life in the small town of Frey, Texas—and nearly that long waiting for the chance to participate in the regional robotics competition, which he just knows he can win.

Only, this year is going to be more difficult than he thought. Because this year is the twentieth anniversary of the 9/11 terrorist attacks, an anniversary that has everyone in his Muslim community on edge.

With “Never Forget” banners everywhere and a hostile group of townspeople protesting the new mosque, Yusuf realizes that the country’s anger from two decades ago hasn’t gone away. Can he hold onto his joy—and his friendships—in the face of heartache and prejudice?

Educator and Librarian Resources

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062943255
  • ISBN 10: 0062943251
  • Imprint: Quill Tree Books
  • On Sale: 09/07/2021
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / Middle East
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Prejudice & Racism

Yusuf Azeem Is Not a Hero by Saadia Faruqi

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.