The People Remember

by Ibi Zoboi

On Sale: 09/28/2021

The People Remember

Enlarge Book Cover

The People Remember

by Ibi Zoboi

illustrated by Loveis Wise

On Sale: 09/28/2021

Format:

Coretta Scott King Honor (Author)

ALA Notable Children’s Book

About the Book

From award-winning, New York Times bestselling author Ibi Zoboi comes her debut picture book—a tour de force that uses the principles of Kwanzaa to talk about the history of African Americans. This lyrical, powerful tribute is sumptuously illustrated by New Yorker artist and rising star Loveis Wise. A beautiful gift for readers of all ages and for fans of Kadir Nelson’s Heart and Soul. A Coretta Scott King Honor Book!

The People Remember tells the journey of African descendants in America by connecting their history to the seven principles of Kwanzaa. It begins in Africa, where people were taken from their homes and families. They spoke different languages and had different customs.

Yet they were bound and chained together and forced onto ships sailing into an unknown future. Ultimately, all these people had to learn one common language and create a culture that combined their memories of home with new traditions that enabled them to thrive in this new land.

Sumptuously illustrated, this is an important book to read as a family—a story young readers can visit over and over again to deepen their understanding of African American history in relation to their own lives and current social justice movements. By turns powerful and revealing, this is a lyrical narrative that tells the story of survival, as well as the many moments of joy, celebration, and innovation of Black people in America.

Critical Praise

“[Ibi and Loveis’s] collaboration focuses on Black resilience, a cultural inheritance powerful enough to break the curse of generational trauma. Guided by the seven principles of Kwanzaa, Zoboi’s narrative explores both the burden and the strength of collective consciousness…. The image and the words work in harmony to emphasize the limitless potential of the human spirit.” — New York Times Book Review

“In lyrical verses with a smoothly rolling, sonorous quality… Zoboi’s poem is a master class in conciseness, expertly evoking powerful images, concepts, and emotions out of just a handful of words, particularly when paired with Wise’s exultant art, and the robust back matter offers even more context and nuance. A must-have for holiday collections, but let its light shine throughout the rest of the year, too.” — ALA Booklist (starred review)

“This immaculately illustrated picture book walks through a vast swath of history… Zoboi’s poetic retrospective breathes life into Black history narratives and reverently celebrates Black lives.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Zoboi’s gorgeous prose illuminates… and Wise’s illustrations highlight the beauty of African American culture. Their color palette takes readers on an emotional journey that is also a brilliant blend of poetry, African, and African American history. Zoboi skillfully weaves together the narratives of enslaved Africans into a wonderful tapestry that is honest and beautiful. Perfect for school and public libraries, this must-have offering celebrates African American cultural identity should be included in all collections.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

“Zoboi employs magnetic, allusive free verse to describe the course of history as experienced by members of the African diaspora and enslaved African peoples…. Zoboi’s lyrical verse is further strengthened by Wise’s eye-catching digital illustrations, composed of lushly colored images realistic and fantastical, historical and contemporary, and painted with spectacular vibrance to portray the experience of African and African American people throughout time. A rich resource ideal for Kwanzaa and beyond.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Zoboi and Wise beautifully ‘sew together a tapestry of / their stories / one fine quilt / a blanket for the children / to keep them warm, protected, and safe.’ Each brightly colored spread tells of important moments and people in African American history.…Wise’s sumptuous digital illustrations are reminiscent of the patches created by African American quilters to remind future generations of their past.” — Horn Book (starred review)

“An exquisite gift book that every member of the family will appreciate.”  — BookPage

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062915641
  • ISBN 10: 0062915649
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 09/28/2021
  • Pages: 64
  • List Price:24.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Biography & Autobiography / Cultural Heritage
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Holidays & Celebrations / Kwanzaa
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Biography & Autobiography / Historical
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Family / Multigenerational
  • BISAC5 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / History / Africa
  • BISAC6 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / People & Places / United States / African American

The People Remember by Ibi Zoboi

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.