Rise of the Vicious Princess

by C. J. Redwine

On Sale: 06/14/2022

Rise of the Vicious Princess

Enlarge Book Cover

Rise of the Vicious Princess

by C. J. Redwine

On Sale: 06/14/2022

Format:

About the Book

The first in a YA political fantasy duology about a fierce princess determined to bring lasting peace to her kingdom regardless of the cost to her heart—from C.J. Redwine, the author of the Defiance series and the New York Times bestselling Ravenspire series. Perfect for fans of These Violent Delights, And I Darken, and Ash Princess.

Princess Charis Willowthorn is the dutiful sword of Calera. Raised to be ruthless and cunning, her only goal is to hold her war-torn kingdom together long enough to find a path toward peace with their ancient foe Montevallo, even if the cost is her own heart.

When violence erupts in the castle itself, nearly killing the queen, Charis must assume her mother’s duties and manage both the war and her kingdom. But as an unseen enemy begins sinking Calera’s ships, Charis realizes a threat much greater than Montevallo is coming for her people. So she forms a plan.

By day, she is Calera’s formidable princess intent on forging an alliance with Montevallo. By night, she disguises herself as a smuggler and roams the sea with a trusted group of loyalists, hunting for their new enemies. And through it all, there's the one boy she can't have—who guards her life, but steals her heart.

But her enemies are much closer than Charis realizes, and her heart isn’t the only thing she has left to lose.




Critical Praise

"With a promising opening—featuring a protagonist reminiscent of those in Kristin Cashore’s Graceling and Marie Rutkoski’s The Winner’s Curse—plus a zinger of an ending, this should have no trouble finding an audience. An engaging introduction to a female-forward fantasy world." — Kirkus Reviews

"A real treat to readers with an appetite for intense, carefully maneuvered political conversations conducted while dancing in gorgeous gowns." — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062908933
  • ISBN 10: 0062908936
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 06/14/2022
  • Pages: 432
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION: Fantasy / Romance
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Royalty
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Action & Adventure / Pirates

Rise of the Vicious Princess by C. J. Redwine

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.