A Wolf Called Wander

by Rosanne Parry, Mónica Armiño

On Sale: 05/07/2019

Enlarge Book Cover

A Wolf Called Wander

by Rosanne Parry

illustrated by Mónica Armiño

On Sale: 05/07/2019

Format:

About the Book

“Don’t miss this dazzling tour de force.”—Katherine Applegate, Newbery Medal winning author of The One and Only Ivan

This gripping novel about survival and family is based on the real story of one wolf’s incredible journey to find a safe place to call home. Illustrated throughout, this irresistible tale by award-winning author Rosanne Parry is for fans of Sara Pennypacker’s Pax and Katherine Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan.

Swift, a young wolf cub, lives with his pack in the mountains learning to hunt, competing with his brothers and sisters for hierarchy, and watching over a new litter of cubs. Then a rival pack attacks, and Swift and his family scatter.

Alone and scared, Swift must flee and find a new home. His journey takes him a remarkable one thousand miles across the Pacific Northwest. The trip is full of peril, and Swift encounters forest fires, hunters, highways, and hunger before he finds his new home.

Inspired by the extraordinary true story of a wolf named OR-7 (or Journey), this irresistible tale of survival invites readers to experience and imagine what it would be like to be one of the most misunderstood animals on earth. This gripping and appealing novel about family, courage, loyalty, and the natural world is for fans of Fred Gipson’s Old Yeller and Katherine Applegate’s Endling.

Includes black-and-white illustrations throughout and a map as well as information about the real wolf who inspired the novel.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Riveting and lyrical, A WOLF CALLED WANDER is a vibrantly imagined celebration of the natural world. Don’t miss this dazzling tour de force.” - —Katherine Applegate, Newbery Medal-winning author of The One and Only Ivan

“Rife with details of the myriad scents, sounds, tastes, touches, and sights in Swift/Wander’s primal existence, the immediacy of his intimate, first-person, present-tense narration proves deeply moving. . . .A sympathetic, compelling introduction to wolves from the perspective of one wolf and his memorable journey.” - Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062895936
  • ISBN 10: 0062895931
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 05/07/2019
  • Pages: 256
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Wolves & Coyotes
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / Survival Stories
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / General (see also headings under Social Themes)

A Wolf Called Wander by Rosanne Parry

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.