Rise Up from the Embers

by Sara Raasch, Kristen Simmons

On Sale: 08/10/2021

Rise Up from the Embers

Enlarge Book Cover

Rise Up from the Embers

by Sara Raasch, Kristen Simmons

On Sale: 08/10/2021

Format:

About the Book

Avatar: The Last Airbender meets Gladiator in this epic duology conclusion about two elemental gladiators swept up in an ancient war between immortals and humans—from Sara Raasch, the New York Times bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes series, and Kristen Simmons, acclaimed author of Pacifica and The Deceivers. Perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes, And I Darken, and The Winner’s Curse.

Two gods are dead. The Mother Goddess has returned. War is rising.

Fleeing the ruins of Deimos, Ash and Madoc sail across the ocean toward their only possible allies: the water and plant gods. But when Anathrasa attacks on the way, Ash leaps to the defense—by using a power she didn’t know she had.

When Madoc made the fire and earth gods mortal, he inadvertently transferred their magic to Ash. Now, if Ash can get energeias from the other four gods, she will be powerful enough to end Anathrasa once and for all.

But not all the gods want the Mother Goddess defeated. To stop her, Madoc will have to become the obedient son his mother always wanted, and Ash will have to take a merciless place among the gods.

To defeat an immortal, Ash and Madoc must fight like gods—even if it means sacrificing their humanity.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

Praise for SET FIRE TO THE GODS: “A high stakes YA fantasy full of elemental gladiator fight sequences and political schemes … [that] puts familiar Greco-Roman mythology in a blender with Avatar: The Last Airbender…. Raasch and Simmons balance a large and memorable cast of characters with aplomb.”   - School Library Journal

"The history of this world is a fascinating one. . . both heartbreaking and intriguing to observe.”  - Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Sara Raasch and Kristen Simmons’s action-packed epic of noble gladiators and warring gods is a must for mythology lovers. With twists and schemes aplenty, this new world of gods and elemental powers keeps the pages turning. COMPLETELY ENTHRALLING. I can’t wait for more of this world.”  - Kendare Blake, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Three Dark Crowns series

Set Fire to the Gods is every bit as ACTION-PACKED, IMAGINATIVE, HEROIC, AND DEEPLY MAGICAL as its title suggests, with an ending that will leave you reeling!  - Katharine McGee, New York Times bestselling author of American Royals

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062891594
  • ISBN 10: 0062891596
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 08/10/2021
  • Pages: 352
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Epic
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / General
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / General

Rise Up from the Embers by Sara Raasch, Kristen Simmons

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.