Set Fire to the Gods

by Sara Raasch, Kristen Simmons

On Sale: 08/04/2020

Set Fire to the Gods

Enlarge Book Cover

Set Fire to the Gods

by Sara Raasch, Kristen Simmons

On Sale: 08/04/2020

Format:

About the Book

Avatar: The Last Airbender meets Gladiator in the first book in this epic fantasy duology in which two warriors must decide where their loyalties lie as an ancient war between immortals threatens humanity—from Sara Raasch, the New York Times bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes series, and Kristen Simmons, acclaimed author of Pacifica and The Deceivers. Perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes, And I Darken, and The Winner’s Curse.

Ash is descended from a long line of gladiators, and she knows the brutal nature of war firsthand. But after her mother dies in an arena, she vows to avenge her by overthrowing her fire god, whose temper has stripped her country of its resources.

Madoc grew up fighting on the streets to pay his family’s taxes. But he hides a dangerous secret: he doesn’t have the earth god’s powers like his opponents. His elemental gift is something else—something that hasn’t been seen in centuries.

When an attempted revenge plot goes dangerously wrong, Ash inadvertently throws the fire and earth gods into a conflict that can only be settled by deadly, lavish gladiator games, throwing Madoc in Ash’s path. She realizes that his powers are the weapon her rebellion needs—but Madoc won’t jeopardize his family, regardless of how intrigued he is by the beautiful warrior.

But when the gods force Madoc’s hand, he and Ash uncover an ancient war that will threaten more than one immortal—it will unravel the world.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“A high stakes YA fantasy full of elemental gladiator fight sequences and political schemes … [that] puts familiar Greco-Roman mythology in a blender with Avatar: The Last Airbender…. Raasch and Simmons balance a large and memorable cast of characters with aplomb.” - School Library Journal

“The history of this world is a fascinating one. . . both heartbreaking and intriguing to observe.” - Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Sara Raasch and Kristen Simmons’s action-packed epic of noble gladiators and warring gods is a must for mythology lovers. With twists and schemes aplenty, this new world of gods and elemental powers keeps the pages turning. COMPLETELY ENTHRALLING. I can’t wait for more of this world.” - Kendare Blake, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Three Dark Crowns series

Set Fire to the Gods is every bit as ACTION-PACKED, IMAGINATIVE, HEROIC, AND DEEPLY MAGICAL as its title suggests, with an ending that will leave you reeling!” - Katharine McGee, New York Times bestselling author of American Royals

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062891563
  • ISBN 10: 0062891561
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 08/04/2020
  • Pages: 432
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Epic
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / General
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Religious / General

Set Fire to the Gods by Sara Raasch, Kristen Simmons

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.