Swimming in the Dark

A Novel

by Tomasz Jedrowski

On Sale: 04/28/2020

Swimming in the Dark

Enlarge Book Cover

Swimming in the Dark

A Novel

by Tomasz Jedrowski

On Sale: 04/28/2020

Format:

About the Book

“Imagine Call Me By Your Name set in Communist Poland and you'll get a sense of Jedrowski's moving debut about a consuming love affair amidst a country being torn apart.”  — O Magazine, LGBTQ Books That’ll Change the Literary Landscape in 2020

“Captivating both for its shimmering surfaces and its terrifying depths. Tomasz Jedrowski is a remarkable writer.”  — Justin Torres, bestselling author of We the Animals

Set in early 1980s Poland against the violent decline of communism, a tender and passionate story of first love between two young men who eventually find themselves on opposite sides of the political divide—a stunningly poetic and heartrending literary debut for fans of Andre Aciman, Garth Greenwell, and Alan Hollinghurst.

When university student Ludwik meets Janusz at a summer agricultural camp, he is fascinated yet wary of this handsome, carefree stranger. But a chance meeting by the river soon becomes an intense, exhilarating, and all-consuming affair. After their camp duties are fulfilled, the pair spend a dreamlike few weeks camping in the countryside, bonding over an illicit copy of James Baldwin’s Giovanni’s Room. Inhabiting a beautiful natural world removed from society and its constraints, Ludwik and Janusz fall deeply in love. But in their repressive communist and Catholic society, the passion they share is utterly unthinkable.

Once they return to Warsaw, the charismatic Janusz quickly rises in the political ranks of the party and is rewarded with a highly-coveted position in the ministry. Ludwik is drawn toward impulsive acts of protest, unable to ignore rising food prices and the stark economic disparity around them. Their secret love and personal and political differences slowly begin to tear them apart as both men struggle to survive in a regime on the brink of collapse.

Shifting from the intoxication of first love to the quiet melancholy of growing up and growing apart, Swimming in the Dark is a potent blend of romance, post-war politics, intrigue, and history. Lyrical and sensual, immersive and intense, Tomasz Jedrowski has crafted an indelible and thought-provoking literary debut that explores freedom and love in all its incarnations.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

"Marvelous, precise, poignant writing; the reader is happy to be overwhelmed. The highest talent at work." - Sebastian Barry, award-winning author of Days Without End

"A stupendous read: I could not put the book down. I urge you to order this book now. Its eloquence, its understanding of identity, belonging, loneliness and love is second to none. Powerful and uplifting." - Michael Cashman, co-founder of Stonewall and author of One of Them

"This is a lyrical exploration of the conflict between gay love and political conformity. Jedrowski is an authentic new international star." - Edmund White, award-winning author of Our Young Man

"Dazzling . . . Readers will relish the indelible prose, which approaches the mastery of Alan Hollinghurst." - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“One of the most astonishing contemporary gay novels we have ever read. Swimming in the Dark is extraordinarily beautiful . . . Erotic, mesmeric, heart-rending and brutal, this is a masterpiece.” - Attitude magazine (UK)

“An affecting and unusual romance, with a political undercurrent . . . . Jedrowski writes elegantly and evokes the emotional honesty that the lovers first thrive in, and then the grimly repressive machinery of the [Polish United Workers' Party].” - The Guardian

“[A] devastating debut novel . . . Worker revolts and brutal government crackdown form the backdrop to Ludwik’s search for love and possibility while living in fear of being discovered. Jedrowski’s prose captures the strain of such desires, alongside heady moments of freedom.” - Interview Magazine

“A remarkable, beautiful tale . . . [that] is consonant with many of the traditions of gay fiction, yet is also utterly new and entirely credible . . . This book radiates sensuality, humour, and human truths . . . The reader is left wanting more. You won’t want to miss it.”  - Literary Review

“Jedrowski has woven a brilliant tale about two people in love who are torn apart by a political divide and a difference in values. . . . A tender, sad, and moving love story . . . full of suspenseful intrigue, conflict, and passion.” - The Gay & Lesbian Review

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062890009
  • ISBN 10: 006289000X
  • Imprint: William Morrow
  • On Sale: 04/28/2020
  • Pages: 208
  • List Price:33.50 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Literary
  • BISAC2 : Undefined Category
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Coming of Age

Swimming in the Dark by Tomasz Jedrowski

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.