Sense and Second-Degree Murder

by Tirzah Price

On Sale: 04/05/2022

Sense and Second-Degree Murder

Enlarge Book Cover

Sense and Second-Degree Murder

by Tirzah Price

On Sale: 04/05/2022

Format:

Junior Library Guild Selection

About the Book

In this second book of the Jane Austen Murder Mystery series, Tirzah Price takes readers for another fun, murderous romp through one of Austen’s beloved novels. Perfect for fans of The Lady Janies and Stalking Jack the Ripper. A Junior Library Guild pick!

When eighteen-year-old aspiring scientist Elinor Dashwood discovers her beloved father slumped over the desk of his office study, she knows his death means dire straits for the Dashwood women. To make matters worse, an outdated will entails his estate—including Norland & Company, the private investigation firm where her younger sister Marianne worked as her father’s partner and protégé—to their half-brother and his haughty wife, who waste no time in forcing the Dashwoods out of their home and into a cramped apartment on London’s Barton Street.

But before they go, the Dashwood sisters make a startling discovery: a suspicious substance in their father’s teacup—one that can only be described as poison. And poison, as Marianne’s father taught her, always points to murder.

It could be dangerous; it could ruin their reputations; and most importantly, it won’t bring back their father. But if the Dashwood sisters can combine their talents and bring their father’s murderer to justice, it may bring them all some comfort—and it might even lead to love.

Pride and Premeditation is a romantic and entertaining page-turner, sure to delight readers of any genre.” —Kerri Maniscalco, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Stalking Jack the Ripper series 

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“[An] engaging mystery that will find a ready audience among Jane Austen fans.” - Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Pride and Premeditation:  “Price’s lively debut adds feminist twists in this reimagining of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. A suspenseful and distinctive read." - Booklist

"Pride and Premeditation is a romantic and entertaining page-turner, sure to delight readers of any genre." - Kerri Maniscalco, #1 NYT bestselling author of the Stalking Jack the Ripper series 

"Clever and witty, perfectly written, compulsively readable, and utterly unputdownable." - Virginia Boecker, author of An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason

“Price’s YA debut is a clever, twisting murder mystery adaptation that will keep both Austen fans and newcomers on their toes.” - School Library Journal

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062889836
  • ISBN 10: 0062889834
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 04/05/2022
  • Pages: 416
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Historical
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Historical / Europe
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Mysteries & Detective Stories

Sense and Second-Degree Murder by Tirzah Price

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.