The World Between Blinks #1

by Amie Kaufman, Ryan Graudin

On Sale: 01/05/2021

The World Between Blinks #1

Enlarge Book Cover

The World Between Blinks #1

by Amie Kaufman, Ryan Graudin

On Sale: 01/05/2021

Format:

About the Book

Bestselling authors Amie Kaufman and Ryan Graudin invite readers into a wondrous world where lost things are found, and where two cousins must come face-to-face with the impossible…

Whenever Jake and Marisol get together, adventure follows. They have their late Nana to thank for that. Her epic trips and treasure hunts were legendary.

With the whole family reuniting for one last summer vacation at Nana’s home, the cousins are prepared for an extraordinary trip of their own. Following a map Nana left behind, Jake and Marisol sneak out to a nearby lighthouse—then accidentally slip into another world! 

The World Between Blinks is a magical place, where all sorts of lost things and people wind up. Everywhere they turn, the cousins find real mysteries from history and a few they thought were just myths, from pilot Amelia Earhart to the fabled city of Atlantis.

But the man who holds the key to Jake and Marisol’s journey home doesn’t want to be found . . . and if the cousins don’t catch him fast, they could end up lost in this world forever.

This first book in an exciting, fast-paced fantasy adventure series—featuring fun, interesting facts about history––is perfect for fans of Chris Colfer’s Land of Stories and Margaret Peterson Haddix’s The Missing series!

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

"A rollicking fun adventure! The World Between Blinks is both a suspenseful mystery with a surprise twist, and a treasure hunt for people, places, and things that vanished from history." - Margaret Peterson Haddix, New York Times bestselling author

"A brilliant, heartwarming blend of history, mystery, and adventure. I raced through every page, afraid to blink and miss part of the wonder."  - Shannon Messenger, New York Times bestselling author

"A tale drenched in whimsy and laughter, Kaufman and Graudin’s story is bursting at the seams with imagination. A treat for readers young and old.”  - Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author

“A clever, imaginative tale that grew more magical with every turn of the page.” - New York Times best-selling author J.C. Cervantes  

"A fast-paced fantasy adventure that will appeal to genre fans and reluctant middle grade readers alike.”  - School Library Journal (starred review)

“[An] incredibly inventive story, chock-full of delightful descriptions and fascinating tidbits. Readers will have enormous fun following the cousins as they navigate their strange situation and piece together their place in it.” - Booklist (starred review)

"An inventive, heartwarming first book in a new middle-grade series." - Kirkus Reviews

“Kaufman and Graudin take full advantage of the book’s inventive premise, introducing readers to a host of exciting historical oddities and concepts.” - Publishers Weekly

“[A] fast-paced adventure romp through the world of the missing.” - Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062882240
  • ISBN 10: 0062882244
  • Imprint: Quill Tree Books
  • On Sale: 01/05/2021
  • Pages: 336
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / General
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / General (see also headings under Social Themes)

The World Between Blinks #1 by Amie Kaufman, Ryan Graudin

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.