Hand-Me-Down Magic #2: Crystal Ball Fortunes

by Corey Ann Haydu, Luisa Uribe

On Sale: 06/16/2020

Hand-Me-Down Magic #2: Crystal Ball Fortunes

Enlarge Book Cover

Hand-Me-Down Magic #2: Crystal Ball Fortunes

by Corey Ann Haydu

illustrated by Luisa Uribe

On Sale: 06/16/2020

Format:

About the Book

The best-friend-cousins at 86½ Twenty-Third Avenue are back for a party! With adorable illustrations and short, easy-to-read chapters, this second installment in the Hand-Me-Down Magic series is perfect for fans of Ivy and Bean and Dory Fantasmagory.

Alma’s birthday gift for Del was supposed to be delightful and daring—just like Del. Her present was a magical crystal ball, and it worked, too! All of Del’s predictions for her party guests were coming true. But when Alma looks into the ball to read Del’s future, she sees something frightening.

Del is certain Alma has given her a bad luck fortune and that it will spell DISASTER for her. Suddenly, Del doesn’t feel like the brave cousin anymore. Which means it’s up to Alma to help Del face her fear—and her crystal ball fortune—with her best-friend-cousin right by her side.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

Praise for Eventown: A wonderful and inventive story about being a kid in an imperfect world—beautiful mysterious and deeply satisfying - Rebecca Stead, author of When You Reach Me and Goodbye Stranger

“At once enchanting, heart-rending, and bittersweet.” - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“An emotionally complex and wonderfully told story.” - School Library Journal (starred review)

“[A] thought-provoking novel... [A] memorable and brave heroine.” - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Praise for The Someday Suitcase : “Quietly superb prose...Haydu doesn’t romanticize illness, but she provides comfort through art, science, magic, love, and a purple suitcase.” - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Poignant and powerful. A heartbreaking story about the healing power of friendship amid human fragility.” - ALA Booklist (starred review)

Praise for Rules for Stealing Stars: “A well-crafted blend of realism and fantasy.” - School Library Journal (starred review)

“[A] lyrical story of love and loss. The way the sisters fight and love in equal measure, as well as their basic need for one another, rings poignantly true in this touching and heartwarming story, which contains a ‘tiny bit of magic, right here in the real world.” - ALA Booklist (starred review)

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062878274
  • ISBN 10: 0062878271
  • Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books
  • On Sale: 06/16/2020
  • Pages: 128
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 6 to 10
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Readers / Chapter Books
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / General (see also headings under Social Themes)

Hand-Me-Down Magic #2: Crystal Ball Fortunes by Corey Ann Haydu

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.