On a Wing and a Tear

by Cynthia Leitich Smith

On Sale: 09/17/2024

On a Wing and a Tear

Enlarge Book Cover

On a Wing and a Tear

by Cynthia Leitich Smith

On Sale: 09/17/2024

Format:

About the Book

A living legend roosting in the backyard. An unmissable game. A hair-raising mystery. A road trip full of adventure and danger. And all the overlapping circles that connect us throughout Creation.

Melanie “Mel” Roberts and Ray Halfmoon may be from different Indigenous Nations, but the friends have become like siblings since the Robertses moved in with the Halfmoons. And they soon welcome a distinguished guest: Great-grandfather Bat, whose wing is injured, has taken refuge in their old oak tree.

A rematch of the legendary Great Ball Game is coming up, with Bat as the star player. Grampa Charlie Halfmoon offers to drive Bat from Chicago down to the traditional playing field outside Macon, Georgia, and Mel and Ray are determined to help out.

Together, they all set off on a road trip—facing adventure, danger, and a hair-raising mystery—on the way to the historic game.

With loving care and boisterous humor, acclaimed author Cynthia Leitich Smith (Muscogee) tells a modern folklore story about friendship, embracing the unexpected, and all the overlapping circles that connect us throughout Creation. Perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo, Brian Young, and Elana K. Arnold! 

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062870001
  • ISBN 10: 0062870009
  • Imprint: Heartdrum
  • On Sale: 09/17/2024
  • Pages: 240
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / United States / Native American
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Performing Arts / Film
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Business, Careers, Occupations

On a Wing and a Tear by Cynthia Leitich Smith

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.