The Tiger at Midnight

by Swati Teerdhala

On Sale: 04/23/2019

Enlarge Book Cover

The Tiger at Midnight

by Swati Teerdhala

On Sale: 04/23/2019

Format:

About the Book

The first book in an epic heart-pounding fantasy trilogy inspired by ancient Indian history and Hindu mythology, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Renée Ahdieh.

* A Book Riot Most Anticipated Novel of 2019 * B&N Top 50 Most Anticipated Novels *

A broken bond. A dying land. A cat-and-mouse game that can only end in bloodshed.

Esha lost everything in the royal coup—and as the legendary rebel known as the Viper, she’s made the guilty pay. Now she’s been tasked with her most important mission to date: taking down the ruthless General Hotha.

Kunal has been a soldier since childhood. His uncle, the general, has ensured that Kunal never strays from the path—even as a part of Kunal longs to join the outside world, which has only been growing more volatile.

When Esha and Kunal’s paths cross one fated night, an impossible chain of events unfolds. Both the Viper and the soldier think they’re calling the shots, but they’re not the only players moving the pieces.

As the bonds that hold their land in order break down and the sins of the past meet the promise of a new future, both the soldier and the rebel must decide where their loyalties lie: with the lives they’ve killed to hold on to or with the love that’s made them dream of something more.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Teerdhala’s debut, immersed in Indian fantasy, features two compelling protagonists who must question their loyalties and decide what they’re willing to sacrifice for the chance at a new future. Fast-paced action and a budding romance between emotionally layered characters make this a promising start to a gripping new series.” - ALA Booklist

“[A] vibrantly imagined South Indian–inspired trilogy opener...Teerdhala adds plenty of surprises to her finely limned characters to produce a lush fantasy.” - Publishers Weekly

“[A] lush blend of folklore, fantasy, and romance.” - Kirkus Reviews

“Cat-and-mouse maneuvering between assassin Esha and reluctant soldier Kunal will hold you in tantalizing suspense in this searing debut exploring love, loss, and destiny. The Tiger at Midnight is as alluring and fearless as its characters.” - Stacey Lee, award-winning author of Outrun the Moon

“Follow Esha and Kunal on a dangerous journey through lush jungles and bustling cities, where the stakes are life and death, and victory comes at a terrible price. Teerdhala has written a masterful debut full of breathless twists and turns and a romance to ignite the senses.” - Axie Oh, author of Rebel Seoul

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062869210
  • ISBN 10: 0062869213
  • Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books
  • On Sale: 04/23/2019
  • Pages: 496
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Epic
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Action & Adventure / General
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / People & Places / Asia

The Tiger at Midnight by Swati Teerdhala

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.