The Best at It

by Maulik Pancholy

On Sale: 10/08/2019

Enlarge Book Cover

The Best at It

by Maulik Pancholy

On Sale: 10/08/2019

Format:

About the Book

From award-winning actor Maulik Pancholy comes a hilarious and heartfelt middle grade debut about a gay Indian American boy coming into his own. Perfect for fans of Tim Federle’s Nate series.

Rahul Kapoor is heading into seventh grade in a small town in Indiana. The start of middle school is making him feel increasingly anxious, so his favorite person in the whole world, his grandfather, Bhai, gives him some well-meaning advice: Find one thing you’re really good at and become the BEST at it.

Those four little words sear themselves into Rahul’s brain. While he’s not quite sure what that special thing is, he is convinced that once he finds it, bullies like Brent Mason will stop torturing him at school. And he won’t be worried about staring too long at his classmate Justin Emery. With his best friend, Chelsea, by his side, Rahul is ready to crush this challenge.... But what if he discovers he isn’t the best at anything?

Funny, charming, and incredibly touching, this is a story about friendship, family, and the courage it takes to live your truth. 

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“The protagonist’s devastatingly honest voice pulls readers deeply into a fast-paced journey...  heartbreakingly authentic.” - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“An emotional, earnest, and genuine journey to self-love that had me crying, laughing, and cheering. Hilarious and heartbreaking and truly touching—I wanted nothing more than to reach through the pages and give Rahul a big hug for being brave, determined, and the best that he can be.” - Kacen Callender, Stonewall Award-winning author of Hurricane Child

“A funny, fun, big-hearted book filled with characters to adore. Rahul’s journey toward learning to stand up for himself and finding his place in the world is achingly emotionally authentic and deeply resonant. This novel is a joy from beginning to end.” - Anne Ursu, award-winning author of Breadcrumbs and The Lost Girl

“Exuberant... Every middle schooler will find themselves in this book.” - Soman Chainani, New York Times bestselling author of the School for Good and Evil series

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062866417
  • ISBN 10: 0062866419
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 10/08/2019
  • Pages: 336
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Adolescence
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Bullying
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / LGBT

The Best at It by

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.