False Witness

A Novel

by Karin Slaughter

On Sale: 07/20/2021

False Witness

Enlarge Book Cover

False Witness

A Novel

by Karin Slaughter

On Sale: 07/20/2021

Format:

About the Book

He saw what you did.

He knows who you are…

From the New York Times bestselling author of Pieces of Her and The Silent Wife, an electrifying standalone thriller.

AN ORDINARY LIFE…

Leigh Collier has worked hard to build what looks like a normal life.  She’s an up-and-coming defense attorney at a prestigious law firm in Atlanta, would do anything for her sixteen-year-old daughter Maddy, and is managing to successfully coparent through a pandemic after an amicable separation from her husband Walter.

 

HIDES A DEVASTATING PAST...

But Leigh’s ordinary life masks a childhood no one should have to endure … a childhood tarnished by secrets, broken by betrayal, and ultimately destroyed by a brutal act of violence.

 

BUT NOW THE PAST IS CATCHING UP…

On a Sunday night at her daughter’s school play, she gets a call from one of the firm's partners who wants Leigh to come on board to defend a wealthy man accused of multiple counts of rape. Though wary of the case, it becomes apparent she doesn't have much choice if she wants to keep her job. They're scheduled to go to trial in one week. When she meets the accused face-to-face, she realizes that it’s no coincidence that he’s specifically asked for her to represent him.  She knows him.  And he knows her.  More to the point, he may know what happened over twenty years ago, and why Leigh has spent two decades avoiding her past.  

 

AND TIME IS RUNNING OUT.

Suddenly she has a lot more to lose than this case.  The only person who can help is her younger, estranged sister Callie—the last person Leigh would ever want to drag into this after all they’ve been through.  But with the life-shattering truth in danger of being revealed, she has no choice...

 

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Slaughter offers us a high-stakes thriller that handles the tragedy of addiction with empathy and grace. Her heroines are believable, flawed and courageous.” - Oyinkan Braithwaite, award-winning author of My Sister, The Serial Killer, on False Witness

“Karin Slaughter’s False Witness is a twisty, searingly contemporary mystery steeped in a dark past, and she weaves a story that catches your breath and keeps you gasping and guessing until the end.”  - Stacey Abrams, author of While Justice Sleeps, on False Witness

“Karin Slaughter is a master of the thriller genre and her genius comes through on every page, in every character, through every plot twist. False Witness is so suspenseful, it’s tension palpable, and the action so visual, I can’t wait to see its brilliance in film.” - Francesca Momplaisir, critically-acclaimed author of My Mother’s House, on False Witness

  "Slaughter has written a wickedly sharp and arresting tour de force that blends a riveting plot and emotional subterfuge with the kind of propulsive prose that makes False Witness absolutely unputdownable." - Lauren Francis-Sharma, author of Book of the Little Axe, on False Witness

"Slaughter doesn’t save her twists for the end, instead peppering them throughout the intricately layered story amid stomach-churning near misses and gripping character revelations. Equal parts hyperrealistic thriller and epic tragedy, Slaughter’s latest is pitch-perfect storytelling." - Booklist (starred review) on False Witness

“All of Slaughter’s books . . . are satisfyingly surprising and plausible, but it’s Slaughter’s prodigious gifts of characterization that make her stand out among thriller writers.”

- Washington Post

“Slaughter’s eye for detail and truth are unmatched.”  - Gillian Flynn 

“If you’re into mystery thrillers, then you’re into Karin Slaughter.”  - theSkimm

“Her talent is the equivalent of an Edgar Allan Poe or a Nathaniel Hawthorne . . . An exemplary storyteller, weaving her words with skill and intelligence. She will be recognized as one of the great talents of the 21st century and will hold an honored place in the realm of world literature.” - The Huffington Post

“Expect from a Karin Slaughter crime thriller . . . just the right amount of twists, turns, shocks, surprises and domestic thrill and shrill.”   - Parade

“[The Last Widow] does what all great Slaughter books do: keeps you on the edge of your seat. It’s a chilling whodunit for our times.” - Parade on The Last Widow

“There’s never a dull moment in Georgia with Karin Slaughter on the literary rampage.” - Washington Post on The Last Widow

"The emotionally sophisticated characters work through the brutality of their jobs in this dynamic psychological thriller and police procedural that will please readers of Slaughter’s “Grant County” series. For fans of Meg Gardiner, David Baldacci, and Carrie Smith." - Library Journal on The Silent Wife

“With a well-written, intriguing plot and an edge-of-the-seat ending, this is sure to keep readers up late into the night.” - Library Journal (starred review) on The Last Widow

“One of the boldest thriller writers working today.” - Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author

"Fiction doesn’t get any better than this.” - Jeffery DeaverNew York Times bestselling author

“Slaughter’s work is like a professional athlete coming to the playground to show the kids how it’s done. With her themes, tensions and metaphors, she has a talent for classic literature that is often missing in recent fiction.” - RT Book Reviews

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062860880
  • ISBN 10: 0062860887
  • Imprint: William Morrow
  • On Sale: 07/20/2021
  • Pages: 448
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Crime

False Witness by Karin Slaughter

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.