Dangerous Alliance: An Austentacious Romance

by Jennieke Cohen

On Sale: 12/03/2019

Dangerous Alliance: An Austentacious Romance

Enlarge Book Cover

Dangerous Alliance: An Austentacious Romance

by Jennieke Cohen

On Sale: 12/03/2019

Format:

About the Book

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue meets Jane Austen in this witty, winking historical romance with a dash of mystery!

Lady Victoria Aston has everything she could want: an older sister happily wed, the future of her family estate secure, and ample opportunity to while her time away in the fields around her home.

But now Vicky must marry—or find herself and her family destitute. Armed only with the wisdom she has gained from her beloved novels by Jane Austen, she enters society’s treacherous season.

Sadly, Miss Austen has little to say about Vicky’s exact circumstances: whether the roguish Mr. Carmichael is indeed a scoundrel, if her former best friend, Tom Sherborne, is out for her dowry or for her heart, or even how to fend off the attentions of the foppish Mr. Silby, he of the unfortunate fashion sensibility.

Most unfortunately of all, Vicky’s books are silent on the topic of the mysterious accidents cropping up around her…ones that could prevent her from surviving until her wedding day.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Contemporary fans of the Austen novels and their screen adaptations will relish this rousing, late Georgian romance.” - ALA Booklist

“While Vicky takes center stage, interspersed perspectives from other characters, including those of Sherborne and his half-sister, deepen the story’s themes… Frequent references to then-popular novels and a thoughtful historical note add additional context to this spirited romp.” - Publishers Weekly

“Charming and fun. Replete with intrigue, grand parties, and romantic entanglements, fans of Jane Austen will positively devour this book.” - Jessica Cluess, author of A Shadow Bright and Burning

“Romance fans and Jane Austen devotees will devour this delicious Regency romp.” - Alexa Donne, author of Brightly Burning and The Stars We Steal

“Bathed in Cohen’s richly textured language, Dangerous Alliance boldly shines a light on issues women struggled with historically: abuse, obstruction, and dominance. A timeless story.” - Shelley Sackier, author of The Antidote and The Freemason’s Daughter

“A fresh, enchanting addition to the historical fiction genre!  The perfect read for fans of Jane Austen and Downton Abbey!” - Tobie Easton, award winning author of the Mer Chronicles series

“The perfect combination of mystery, intriguing characters, surprising action, and delightful romance. I loved every single word.” - Samantha Hastings, author of The Last Word

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062857309
  • ISBN 10: 0062857304
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 12/03/2019
  • Pages: 448
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Historical
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Books & Libraries
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Class Differences

Dangerous Alliance: An Austentacious Romance by Jennieke Cohen

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.