The Athena Protocol

by Shamim Sarif

On Sale: 10/08/2019

The Athena Protocol

Enlarge Book Cover

The Athena Protocol

by Shamim Sarif

On Sale: 10/08/2019

Format:

About the Book

Bourne Identity meets Karen McManus in this action-packed series opener about a spy gone rogue, perfect for fans of Ally Carter and Killing Eve.

Jessie Archer is a member of the Athena Protocol, an elite organization of female spies who enact vigilante justice around the world.

Athena operatives are never supposed to shoot to kill—so when Jessie can’t stop herself from pulling the trigger, she gets kicked out of the organization, right before a huge mission to take down a human trafficker in Belgrade.

Jessie needs to right her wrong and prove herself, so she starts her own investigation into the trafficking. But going rogue means she has no one to watch her back as she delves into the horrors she uncovers. Meanwhile, her former teammates have been ordered to bring her down. Jessie must face danger from all sides if she’s to complete her mission—and survive.

Don’t miss this gripping page-turner that New York Times bestselling author Patrick Ness called “a ferocious, take-no-prisoners thriller that actually thrills!”

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Imagine if Mission: Impossible were run by young, brilliant, ultra-skilled female operatives who undertook rogue operations to save the women and girls of the world from kidnappers and traffickers. Shamim Sarif has written a ferocious, take-no-prisoners thriller that actually thrills, with a deep heart and characters you’ll adore. What a wonderful and exciting new voice in YA. More please!” - Patrick Ness, New York Times bestselling author of The Rest of Us Just Live Here and A Monster Calls

“Finally! The female version of James Bond we’ve been waiting for! Only better—this team of black-ops spies exclusively kick ass and take the names of those who prey on women and girls: warlords and human traffickers. With a diverse cast of heroes and villains, a global scope, and just a hint of romance, it makes taking down the patriarchy fun.” - Natalie C. Anderson, author of City of Saints and Thieves

“Riveting, with thrillingly representative female empowerment.” - Kirkus Reviews

“An inclusive cast, ample action, and escalating stakes. Jessie’s conflicted attraction rings true, and a gratifying conclusion hints at emotional complexities to come.” - Publishers Weekly

“Lots of edge-of-your-seat moments. A perfectly paced plot and girls with brains and Mission Impossible–style moves make this a highly engaging thriller. A breathlessly cinematic series opener.” - School Library Journal

“Led by and centered on women, this high-octane thriller features a well-developed cast with distinct, varied backgrounds. An explosively exciting story that shines a light on the treatment, mistreatment, and unity of women across the globe.” - ALA Booklist

"Delivers all the fun of a spy thriller. The reveals are well plotted and the characters have developed (and often clashing) personalities. Solutions for world problems are also realistically approached, as taking down one baddie leaves a lot unresolved and a lot to ponder about the way crises like terrorism are approached worldwide. Readers looking for some heart-pumping action and vigilante justice will find it here aplenty."
- Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062849601
  • ISBN 10: 0062849603
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 10/08/2019
  • Pages: 304
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Thrillers & Suspense
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Values & Virtues
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Physical & Emotional Abuse (see also Social Themes / Sexual Abuse)

The Athena Protocol by Shamim Sarif

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.