The Marvelous Mirza Girls

by Sheba Karim

On Sale: 05/18/2021

The Marvelous Mirza Girls

Enlarge Book Cover

The Marvelous Mirza Girls

by Sheba Karim

On Sale: 05/18/2021

Format:

About the Book

Gilmore Girls meets vibrant New Delhi in this thoughtful and hilarious new novel about a teen facing family expectations, relationship complications, and hidden secrets in a new country—sprinkled with Sheba Karim's signature wit and steamy romance, and perfect for readers who loved Mary H. K. Choi's Emergency Contact and Adib Khorram's Darius the Great Is Not Okay.

To cure her post-senior year slump, made worse by the loss of her aunt Sonia, Noreen decides to follow her mom on a gap year trip to New Delhi, hoping India can lessen her grief and bring her voice back.

In the world's most polluted city, Noreen soon meets kind, handsome Kabir, who introduces her to the wonders of this magical, complicated place. With the help of Kabir—plus Bollywood celebrities, fourteenth-century ruins, karaoke parties, and Sufi saints—Noreen discovers new meanings for home.

But when a family scandal erupts, Noreen and Kabir must face complex questions in their own relationship: What does it mean to truly stand by someone—and what are the boundaries of love?

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Karim’s latest is a searing story of love in its many forms: young and old, romantic and familial, and maybe most complex, our capacity to love a place. A deep dive into the values of travel and firsthand experience, the book takes an unflinching look at poverty and complicity, sex and religion, without ever losing sight of what it is: family drama, rom-com, travelogue. Call it what you want, The Marvelous Mirza Girls is an utter delight.” - David Arnold, author of Mosquitoland and The Electric Kingdom

“Part self-discovery, part travelogue, all charming."  - Kendare Blake #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Three Dark Crowns series

Filled with beautiful imagery, sensory language, clever structuring, and humor, this is a romantic coming-of-age story.... An engaging and perceptive story of love, grief, and personal awakening.  - Kirkus Reviews

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062845481
  • ISBN 10: 0062845489
  • Imprint: Quill Tree Books
  • On Sale: 05/18/2021
  • Pages: 400
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Contemporary
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / New Experience
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / People & Places / Asia

The Marvelous Mirza Girls by Sheba Karim

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.