Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers

by Margaret Peterson Haddix, Anne Lambelet

On Sale: 04/02/2019

Enlarge Book Cover

Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers

by Margaret Peterson Haddix

illustrated by Anne Lambelet

On Sale: 04/02/2019

Format:

About the Book

* Winter 2018-2019 Kids' Indie Next List Pick * Indie Bestseller * Time for Kids Book Club: Top 10 Summer Reads *

New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix takes readers on a thrilling adventure filled with mysteries and plot twists aplenty in this absorbing series about family and friendships. Perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and The City of Ember!

What makes you you?

The Greystone kids thought they knew. Chess has always been the protector over his younger siblings, Emma loves math, and Finn does what Finn does best—acting silly and being adored. They’ve been a happy family, just the three of them and their mom.

But everything changes when reports of three kidnapped children reach the Greystone kids, and they’re shocked by the startling similarities between themselves and these complete strangers. The other kids share their same first and middle names. They’re the same ages. They even have identical birthdays. Who, exactly, are these strangers?

Before Chess, Emma, and Finn can question their mom about it, she takes off on a sudden work trip and leaves them in the care of Ms. Morales and her daughter, Natalie. But puzzling clues left behind lead to complex codes, hidden rooms, and a dangerous secret that will turn their world upside down.

Praise for The Strangers:

"A secret-stacked, thrilling series opener about perception, personal memories, and the idiosyncrasies that form individual identities." (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“A satisfying third-person narrative that portrays the complex anxieties and internal lives of close, caring family members grappling with a single set of extraordinary circumstances—separately and together. A secret-stacked, thrilling series opener about perception, personal memories, and the idiosyncrasies that form individual identities.” - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Maintains suspense from the beginning to the cliffhanger ending. A high-stakes adventure full of teamwork with a multifaceted mystery and complex themes.” - Kirkus Reviews

“Haddix returns with another mystery/adventure/science-fiction hybrid filled with twists, turns, and political undertones in the nefarious intentions of the alternate world. This first installment ends expectedly with a cliffhanger that is sure to leave readers wanting more.” - Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Bestselling Haddix launches a new middle-grade series that blends adventure and sf elements into an engrossing mystery. The kidnapping alone could have made a compelling mystery, but Haddix throws in secret rooms, alternate realities, and a cliff-hanger ending to raise the stakes and delight fans new and old.” - Booklist

“Masterfully plotted and filled with so many jaw-dropping twists and turns, you’ll be racing toward the end—and begging for the next book. Put simply: this is Margaret Peterson Haddix at her absolute best.” - Shannon Messenger, author of the Keeper of the Lost Cities series

“With more twists than a spiral staircase, The Strangers kept me up way past my bedtime! This thrilling, page-turning adventure will keep you reading, and keep you guessing. Full of codes and clues, love and logic, this book will make you a part of the Greystone family.” - Amie Kaufman, author of the Elementals series

“A hair-raising, mind-twisting adventure full of intrigue, humor, and charm. The spunky, quirky Greystones are easy to cheer for and relate to, and I can’t wait to see what happens next.” - John David Anderson, author of Posted and Ms. Bixby’s Last Day

“Readers will come for the mystery, stay for the suspense, and linger in the Greystone kids’ world long after the final page. The Strangrs will take readers on an amazing ride they will not soon forget.” - Jennifer Nielsen, author of The Traitor’s Game and The Ascendance Trilogy

“A highly suspenseful, delightfully clever thriller with a tinge of creepiness. Give yourself a few hours to calm down after you finish this gem!” - Lisa McMann, author of the Unwanteds Quests series

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062838377
  • ISBN 10: 0062838377
  • Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books
  • On Sale: 04/02/2019
  • Pages: 416
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / General
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Mysteries & Detective Stories

Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers by Margaret Peterson Haddix

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.