Something to Say

by Lisa Moore Ramée

On Sale: 07/14/2020

Something to Say

Enlarge Book Cover

Something to Say

by Lisa Moore Ramée

On Sale: 07/14/2020

Format:

About the Book

From the author of A Good Kind of Trouble, a Walter Dean Myers Honor Book, comes another unforgettable story about finding your voice—and finding your people. Perfect for fans of Sharon Draper, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds.

Eleven-year-old Jenae doesn’t have any friends—and she’s just fine with that. She’s so good at being invisible in school, it’s almost like she has a superpower, like her idol, Astrid Dane. At home, Jenae has plenty of company, like her no-nonsense mama; her older brother, Malcolm, who is home from college after a basketball injury; and her beloved grandpa, Gee.

Then a new student shows up at school—a boy named Aubrey with fiery red hair and a smile that won’t quit. Jenae can’t figure out why he keeps popping up everywhere she goes. The more she tries to push him away, the more he seems determined to be her friend. Despite herself, Jenae starts getting used to having him around.

But when the two are paired up for a class debate about the proposed name change for their school, Jenae knows this new friendship has an expiration date. Aubrey is desperate to win and earn a coveted spot on the debate team.

There’s just one problem: Jenae would do almost anything to avoid speaking up in front of an audience—including risking the first real friendship she’s ever had.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“A timely, entertaining, unforgettable story about family, friendship, and finding your voice.” - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"This is a compelling story about friendship, fighting for what you believe in, and finding your voice. A first purchase for middle grade collections.”  - School Library Journal (starred review)

“Ramée creates a number of convincing characters with depth and individuality…. This satisfying novel revolves around civic engagement, family relationships, and an unexpected but ultimately welcome friendship.” - ALA Booklist

Something to Say is an ode to family and friendship, a call to action, all housed in a story about a girl who finds the courage to face her fears and use her voice to speak up about the people and places that matter to her most. With tenderness, wit, and charm, Ramée creates unforgettable characters that readers will no doubt relate to and root for.  - Renée Watson, author of Some Places More Than Others

Praise for A GOOD KIND OF TROUBLE: “Ramée effectively portrays the importance of the Black Lives Matter movement and the difficulty of navigating complex social situations while conveying universal middle school questions about friendship, first crushes, and identity. Shay’s journey is an authentic and engaging political and personal awakening.” - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Praise for A GOOD KIND OF TROUBLE: “Shayla navigates the world of middle school and the troubled world beyond with wit and endless heart. A timely, funny, and unforgettable debut about friendship, facing your fears, and standing up for what’s right.” - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Praise for A GOOD KIND OF TROUBLE: “Reminiscent in writing style to works by Lauren Myracle and Jason Reynolds, this novel [shows] Shayla’s typical middle school problems, then switches to the very specific problems she faces as a young black girl in America…[For] middle grade readers who aren’t yet ready for Thomas’s The Hate U Give.” - School Library Journal (starred review)

Praise for A GOOD KIND OF TROUBLE: “Shayla’s narration is both sympathetic and acutely realistic... this is a sensitive exploration of contemporary racism and inequity for a readership not ready for Thomas’ The Hate U Give.” - Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Praise for A GOOD KIND OF TROUBLE: “Full of heart and truth, A Good Kind of Trouble has all of the making to be this generation’s Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry. Much like Cassie Logan, Shayla’s experiences, pitfalls, and triumphs will inspire young people for years to come. It is a well-written page turner with a voice that stays with you long after you put the book down.” - Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give

Praise for A GOOD KIND OF TROUBLE: “Gripping from the opening line, A Good Kind of Trouble is a tender, insightful, and unique look at what it means to stand up for what you believe in and be brave. Shay is the type of heroine who inspires us all to take a stand.” - Jay Coles, author of Tyler Johnson Was Here

Praise for A GOOD KIND OF TROUBLE: “Shay’s voice is so genuine -- she practically walks off the page. This is an important book, and an incredible debut.” - Erin Entrada Kelly, Newbery Medal-winning author of Hello, Universe

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062836717
  • ISBN 10: 0062836714
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 07/14/2020
  • Pages: 304
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / School & Education
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Prejudice & Racism

Something to Say by Lisa Moore Ramée

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.