Three Wishes

by Liane Moriarty

On Sale: 08/15/2017

Three Wishes

by Liane Moriarty

On Sale: 08/15/2017

Format:

About the Book

In the tradition of Marian Keyes, Anna Maxted, and Jennifer Weiner, Liane Moriarty’s funny, heartwarming and completely charming first novel describes the troubles and triumphs of the Kettle triplets on their dreaded 33rd birthday

Lyn, Cat and Gemma Kettle are sisters. Triplets, actually. Lyn and Cat are identical (tall, thin, blonde) and Gemma is fraternal (extremely unruly red hair), and Three Wishes takes us through their thirty-third year of life: their experiences with love, sex, work, marriage, infidelity, pregnancy and the reunion of their long divorced parents (it’s been a busy year).

The Kettle sisters have been accidentally starring in public performances all their lives, affecting their audiences in more ways than they’ll ever know. This time, however, they give a particularly spectacular show when a raucous, champagne-soaked birthday dinner ends in a violent argument and an emergency dash to the hospital. So who started it this time? Was it Cat: full of angry, hurt passion dating back to the “Night of the Spaghetti?” Was it Lyn: serenely successful, at least on the outside? Or was it Gemma: quirky, dreamy and unable to keep a secret, except for the most important one of them all?

Three Wishes is a funny, heart-warming novel about the nature of siblings and their tendency to fall into predetermined roles. Over the course of a year full of funny moments and heartbreaking disappointment, Lyn, Cat and Gemma begin to recognize the binding nature of these roles and take steps down the road toward becoming more and more who and how they want to be.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Three funny heroines are three times the fun.” - Dallas Morning News

“An entertaining exploration of an offbeat, yet surprisingly ordinary, family. You’ll long to make friends with these delightful young women.” - Woman's Day

“Moriarty’s first novel, written with wisdom, humor, and sincerity, is an honest look at sisters who have a bond stronger than anything life throws their way.” - Booklist

“A joyful, bighearted valentine to sisters. Full of charm and cleverness, Three Wishes is a rich, enticing birthday cake of a book.” - Patricia Gaffney, bestselling author of The Saving Graces

“I adored Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty... it’s fresh, very, very funny, accessible and entertaining. But it’s also intelligent and unsentimental about family dynamics."    - Marian Keyes, bestselling author of Under the Duvet

“A funny, wry, touching tale of triplets. . . . Each of the beautifully drawn characters is so vividly alive, their triumph becomes your own.” - Australian Women's Weekly

"A compelling story. Once you’ve started this, you won’t want to put it down.” - Cleo

"Three Wishes is a funny, light novel drawing on themes that anyone who has struggled with their identity as part of, and separate from, their family will thoroughly enjoy.” - Good Reading (Australia)

“A quick read and a great debut.” - San Antonio Express-News

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062834027
  • ISBN 10: 0062834029
  • Imprint: Harper Perennial
  • On Sale: 08/15/2017
  • Pages: 384
  • List Price:19.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Family Life / Siblings
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Humorous / General

Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.