The Ever Cruel Kingdom

by Rin Chupeco

On Sale: 11/10/2020

The Ever Cruel Kingdom

Enlarge Book Cover

The Ever Cruel Kingdom

by Rin Chupeco

On Sale: 11/10/2020

Format:

About the Book

From the author of The Bone Witch, the thrilling sequel to The Never Tilting World spins elemental magic, fierce sisterhood, and vast, incredible landscapes into a YA fantasy epic perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir. 

After a treacherous journey and a life-shattering introduction to a twin neither knew she had, sisters Haidee and Odessa expected to emerge from the Great Abyss to a world set right. But though the planet is turning once again, the creatures of the abyss refuse to rest without another goddess’s sacrifice. 

To break the cycle, Haidee and Odessa need answers that lie beyond the seven gates of the underworld, within the Cruel Kingdom itself. The shadows of the underworld may hunger to tear them apart, but these two sisters are determined to heal their world—together.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

Praise for The Never Tilting World:  “The Never Tilting World  is what happens when Garth Nix meets Mad Max: Fury Road . It’s a dark, lovely, and even timely look at a world that’s fallen apart, with just the right blend of epic action and twisted magic.” - Tara Sim, author of Timekeeper

“Visually vivid, magical, and exhilarating.” - Kirkus Reviews

“Dark and richly drawn, The Never Tilting World  is a lavish fantasy about sisterhood, sacrifice, and finding strength in a treacherous world. Chupeco’s writing is lushly descriptive, transporting me to the brink of the abyss; while reading it, I could swear the world stood still.” - Heidi Heilig, author of For a Muse of Fire

“Multiple plot twists and a breathlessly cinematic tone will attract fantasy and romance fans alike.” - Booklist

“Complex, brutal, romantic, and terrifying. With a phenomenal cast of characters who stick to your bones and vivid worldbuilding that shows up in your dreams, this is a book that demands to be experienced.” - Dahlia Adler, author of Under the Lights  and editor of His Hideous Heart

“This rich fantasy spotlights power’s corruptive influence, love’s redemptive nature, and the urgent concerns of climate change. The tale’s scope and creativity astound.” - Publishers Weekly

“A great choice for fantasy shelves.” - School Library Journal

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062821904
  • ISBN 10: 0062821903
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 11/10/2020
  • Pages: 480
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Wizards & Witches
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / Siblings
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / General

The Ever Cruel Kingdom by Rin Chupeco

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.