Rules for Being a Girl

by Candace Bushnell, Katie Cotugno

On Sale: 04/07/2020

Rules for Being a Girl

Enlarge Book Cover

Rules for Being a Girl

by Candace Bushnell, Katie Cotugno

On Sale: 04/07/2020

Format:

About the Book

Candace Bushnell, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Sex and the City, and Katie Cotugno, New York Times bestselling author of 99 Days, team up to write a fierce, propulsive novel about a girl who is preyed upon by a manipulative teacher and finds the power to fight back. Perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Laurie Halse Anderson.

It starts before you can even remember: You learn the rules for being a girl. . . .

Marin has always been good at navigating these unspoken guidelines. A star student and editor of the school paper, she dreams of getting into Brown University. Marin’s future seems bright—and her young, charismatic English teacher, Mr. Beckett, is always quick to admire her writing and talk books with her.

But when “Bex” takes things too far and comes on to Marin, she’s shocked and horrified. Had she somehow led him on? Was it her fault?

When Marin works up the courage to tell the administration what happened, no one believes her. She’s forced to face Bex in class every day. Except now, he has an ax to grind.

But Marin isn’t about to back down. She uses the school newspaper to fight back and she starts a feminist book club at school. She finds allies—and even romance—in the most unexpected people, like Gray Kendall, who she’d always dismissed as just another lacrosse bro.

As things heat up at school and in her personal life, Marin must figure out how to take back the power and write her own rules.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

An engrossing and engaging read, filled with dynamic characters. While Marin’s is a fight that should never be necessary, her experience is one that many women and girls will unfortunately relate to. A powerful story of a girl determined to make others look her in the eyes and listen.  - Associated Press

“A blistering look at a girl who, when her eyes are opened by an injustice, reacts by taking action…. Readers will be glad for this take from two powerhouse creators.” - ALA Booklist

“Marin’s transformation into a clear-eyed young activist will inspire teens…this fast-paced narrative introduces the complexities of intersectionality, identifies the insidious impact of rape culture, and encourages readers to take a stand against everyday injustices.” - School Library Journal

"The authors write a convincing teen exploring the complex, frequently sexist social norms that girls and women navigate daily."  - Publishers Weekly

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062803375
  • ISBN 10: 0062803379
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 04/07/2020
  • Pages: 304
  • List Price:24.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Contemporary
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Dating & Sex

Rules for Being a Girl by Candace Bushnell, Katie Cotugno

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.