The Usual Suspects

by Maurice Broaddus

On Sale: 05/21/2019

Enlarge Book Cover

The Usual Suspects

by Maurice Broaddus

On Sale: 05/21/2019

Format:

About the Book

Fans of Jason Reynolds and Sharon M. Draper will love this oh-so-honest middle grade novel from writer and educator Maurice Broaddus.

Thelonius Mitchell is tired of being labeled. He’s in special ed, separated from the “normal” kids at school who don’t have any “issues.” That’s enough to make all the teachers and students look at him and his friends with a constant side-eye. (Although his disruptive antics and pranks have given him a rep too.)

When a gun is found at a neighborhood hangout, Thelonius and his pals become instant suspects. Thelonius may be guilty of pulling crazy stunts at school, but a criminal? T isn’t about to let that label stick.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Readers will love watching these two uniquely gifted black boys explore the complicated tensions between impulses and choices, independence and support, turnin’ up and getting through.” - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“A rare and much-needed glimpse into the world of exceptional learners.” - School Library Journal

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062796318
  • ISBN 10: 0062796313
  • Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books
  • On Sale: 05/21/2019
  • Pages: 288
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / School & Education
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Prejudice & Racism
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / United States / African American

The Usual Suspects by Maurice Broaddus

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.