Lalani of the Distant Sea

by Erin Entrada Kelly

On Sale: 09/03/2019

Enlarge Book Cover

Lalani of the Distant Sea

by Erin Entrada Kelly

On Sale: 09/03/2019

Format:

About the Book

“Fast-paced and full of wonder, this is a powerful, gripping must-read.”—Kirkus (starred review)

“A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder.”—Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal–winning author of When You Reach Me

Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut fantasy novel is a gorgeous, literary adventure about bravery, friendship, self-reliance, and the choice between accepting fate or forging your own path.

When Lalani Sarita’s mother falls ill with an incurable disease, Lalani embarks on a dangerous journey across the sea in the hope of safeguarding her own future. Inspired by Filipino folklore, this engrossing fantasy is for readers who loved Grace Lin’s Where the Mountain Meets the Moon and Disney’s Moana.

Life is difficult on the island of Sanlagita. To the west looms a vengeful mountain, one that threatens to collapse and bury the village at any moment. To the north, a dangerous fog swallows sailors who dare to venture out, looking for a more hospitable land. And what does the future hold for young girls? Chores and more chores.

When Lalani Sarita’s mother falls gravely ill, twelve-year-old Lalani faces an impossible task—she must leave Sanlagita and find the riches of the legendary Mount Isa, which towers on an island to the north. But generations of men and boys have died on the same quest—how can an ordinary girl survive the epic tests of the archipelago? And how will she manage without Veyda, her best friend?

Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut fantasy novel is inspired by Filipino folklore and is an unforgettable coming-of-age story about friendship, courage, and identity. Perfect for fans of Lauren Wolk’s Beyond the Bright Sea and Kelly Barnhill’s The Girl Who Drank the Moon

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder.” - —Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me

“With lyricism and elegance, Erin Entrada Kelly weaves a rich tale. Powerful and gripping.” - Soman Chainani, author of The School for Good and Evil series

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062747273
  • ISBN 10: 0062747274
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 09/03/2019
  • Pages: 400
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings

Lalani of the Distant Sea by Erin Entrada Kelly

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.