Dough Boys

by Paula Chase

On Sale: 08/27/2019

Enlarge Book Cover

Dough Boys

by Paula Chase

On Sale: 08/27/2019

Format:

About the Book

In the companion to her acclaimed So Done, Paula Chase follows best friends Simp and Rollie as their friendship is threatened by the pressures of basketball, upcoming auditions, middle school, and their growing involvement in the local drug ring.

Dough Boys is a memorably vivid story about the complex friendship between two African American boys whose lives are heading down very different paths. For fans of Jason Reynolds’s Ghost and Rebecca Stead’s Goodbye Stranger.

Deontae “Simp” Wright has big plans for his future. Plans that involve basketball, his best friend, Rollie, and making enough money to get his mom and four younger brothers out of the Cove, their low-income housing project.

Long term, this means the NBA. Short term, it means being a dough boy—getting paid to play lookout and eventually moving up the rungs of the neighborhood drug operation with Rollie as his partner.

Roland “Rollie” Matthews used to love playing basketball. He loved the rhythm of the game, how he came up with his best drumbeats after running up and down the court. But playing with the elite team comes with extra, illegal responsibilities, and Rollie isn't sure he's down for that life. The new talented-and-gifted program, where Rollie has a chance to audition for a real-life go-go band, seems like the perfect excuse to stop being a dough boy. But how can he abandon his best friend?

Paula Chase explores universal themes of friendship and budding romance, while also exploring complex issues that affect many young teens. Full of basketball, friendship, and daily life in a housing project, this universal story is perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds’s Track series, Jewell Parker Rhodes’s Ghost Boys, and Chris Crutcher.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“In this follow-up to SO DONE, Paula Chase explores the unraveling friendship of two middle school boys, Rollie and Simp. This unsparing but tender novel takes the reader down some dangerous streets even as it reveals a hopeful world beyond. Chase’s writing pops off the page. I loved DOUGH BOYS!” - -Barbara Dee, Author of Everything I Know About You

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062691811
  • ISBN 10: 0062691813
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 08/27/2019
  • Pages: 336
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Adolescence
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Alternative Family

Dough Boys by Paula Chase

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.