The Collectors

by Jacqueline West

On Sale: 10/09/2018

Read a Sample Enlarge Book Cover

The Collectors

by Jacqueline West

On Sale: 10/09/2018

Format:

About the Book

Even the smallest wish can be dangerous. That’s why the Collectors are always keeping watch.

The Collectors sweeps readers into a hidden world where wishes are stolen and dreams have a price. Fast-paced, witty, and riveting, this contemporary fantasy adventure has magic woven through every page.

It's the first book in a two-book series from Jacqueline West, the New York Times–bestselling author of The Books of Elsewhere series. For fans of Serafina and the Black Cloak, The Isle of the Lost, and The Secret Keepers.

Van has always been an outsider. Most people don’t notice him. But he notices them. And he notices the small trinkets they drop, or lose, or throw away—that’s why his collection is full of treasures. Then one day, Van notices a girl stealing pennies from a fountain, and everything changes. He follows the girl, Pebble, and uncovers an underground world full of wishes and the people who collect them. Apparently not all wishes are good and even good wishes often have unintended consequences—and the Collectors have made it their duty to protect us. But they aren't the only ones who have their eyes on the world’s wishes—and they may not be the good guys, after all.  

Jacqueline West, author of the New York Times–bestselling Books of Elsewhere series, draws readers into a story about friendship, magic, and the gray area between good and evil. The Collectors is for fans of Cassie Beasley’s Circus Mirandus and Jonathan Auxier’s The Night Gardener.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Original, brave, and addictive. West has created creatures cuddly and terrifying and hilarious, and a protagonist you will love. This is a world you’re going to want to return to long after the book is done.” - Adam Gidwitz, bestselling author of the Newbery Honor book The Inquisitor’s Tale 

“The Collectors has the whole package -- a brilliant premise, a compelling hero, and a crackling sense of humor. It’s everything a young reader could wish for!” - Jonathan Auxier, New York Times–Bestselling author of The Night Gardener 

“Magic and mystery lurk behind every shadow in this inventive, engrossing, and wonderfully strange adventure. In The Collectors, Jacqueline West gives readers a book to adore.” - Anne Ursu, author of The Real Boy

The Collectors is made out of dangerous and delightful magic.”
- William Alexander, award-winning author of A Properly Unhaunted Place

“West captures Van’s curiosity and wonder for life, giving his personality an air of innocence…A brilliant fantasy adventure exploring the consequences of getting what you wish for.” - ALA Booklist

“West has constructed a fast-paced and engrossing tale of a boy wrestling with the consequences of power and responsibility… Readers may not wish to leave this magical world” - Kirkus Reviews

“A gentle, triumphant reminder that being different doesn’t correspond to weakness. First in a planned duology, West’s magical adventure offers humor and warmhearted adventure.” - Publishers Weekly

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062691699
  • ISBN 10: 0062691694
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 10/09/2018
  • Pages: 384
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / General
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship

The Collectors by Jacqueline West

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.