We Set the Dark on Fire

by Tehlor Kay Mejia

On Sale: 02/26/2019

Enlarge Book Cover

We Set the Dark on Fire

by Tehlor Kay Mejia

On Sale: 02/26/2019

Format:

About the Book

In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida Córdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.

At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband’s household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class.

Daniela Vargas is the school’s top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society.

And school couldn’t prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio.

Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she’s strived for in pursuit of a free Medio—and a chance at a forbidden love?

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“With its achingly slow-burn romance and incisive examination of power structures, this is a masterfully constructed novel, made all the more impressive as it’s a debut.” - ALA Booklist (starred review)

“A richly constructed world full of fantasy and diversity, with a mystery that will keep them guessing until the very end.” - School Library Journal (starred review)

“Tehlor Kay Mejia has fashioned a gripping tale of romance and rebellion. Dani captivated me and held my heart in a vice grip all the way to this book’s stunning conclusion.” - Tochi Onyebuchi, author of Beasts Made of Night

We Set the Dark on Fire simmers with political revolution and forbidden love between two powerful young women—I couldn’t put it down.” - Audrey Coulthurst, author of Of Fire and Stars

“A vivid tale of political intrigue, power, and resistance that will thrill the hearts of readers.” - New York Times bestselling author Traci Chee

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062691316
  • ISBN 10: 0062691317
  • Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books
  • On Sale: 02/26/2019
  • Pages: 384
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Contemporary
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / LGBT
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Class Differences

We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.