New Kid

by Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft

On Sale: 02/05/2019

Enlarge Book Cover

New Kid

by Jerry Craft

illustrated by Jerry Craft

On Sale: 02/05/2019

Format:

About the Book

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Possibly one of the most important graphic novels of the year.” - Booklist (starred review)

“Funny, sharp, and totally real! Jordan Banks is the kid everyone will be talking about!” - Jeff Kinney, Author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid

“An engrossing, humorous, and vitally important graphic novel that should be required reading in every middle school in America.” - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“This is more than a story about being the new kid—it’s a complex examination of the micro- and macroaggressions that Jordan endures from classmates and teachers. Highly recommended for all middle grade shelves.” - School Library Journal (starred review)

“This engaging story offers an authentic secondary cast and captures the high jinks of middle schoolers and the tensions that come with being a person of color in a traditionally white space.” - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Craft’s full-color comics art is dynamic and expressive. This school story stands out as a robust, contemporary depiction of a preteen navigating sometimes hostile spaces yet staying true to himself thanks to friends, family, and art.” - Horn Book Magazine

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062691200
  • ISBN 10: 0062691201
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 02/05/2019
  • Pages: 256
  • List Price:26.99 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : Undefined Category
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Prejudice & Racism
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / New Experience

New Kid by

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.