A Pup Called Trouble

by Bobbie Pyron

On Sale: 02/13/2018

Read a Sample Enlarge Book Cover

A Pup Called Trouble

by Bobbie Pyron

On Sale: 02/13/2018

Format:

About the Book

Fans of classic animal stories like Pax and A Dog’s Way Home will howl over the heartwarming adventures of a coyote pup lost in New York City.

Brimming with curiosity, Trouble can’t wait to explore the world beyond Singing Creek. So one morning the coyote pup stows away in the back of a truck and ends up lost in the heart of New York City. While Trouble misses his siblings, he quickly makes friends in Central Park’s Ramble: a prankster crow, a timid opossum, and a poetic poodle.

Before long, he goes from howling for home to wondering if he could make a life in the city forever. But when word gets out that a coyote is running wild on city streets, Trouble must choose between the risks of being caught and the dangers of a long journey home.

Inspired by true stories, this accessible read from the award-winning author of A Dog’s Way Home will resonate with anyone who’s ever felt torn between the longing for adventure and the call of home. An appendix with real accounts of wild animals trapped in the city adds to the fun!

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

★ “An enthralling adventure with emotional heft and read-aloud potential. Fans of Kate DiCamillo, Phyllis Naylor, and E. B. White will treasure Pyron’s book.” - Booklist (starred review)

“A fast-paced, immersive exploration of urban wildlife from a satisfying animal point of view.” - Kirkus Reviews

“Based on real-life instances of coyotes inhabiting Central Park, Pyron’s tale deftly navigates the animal adventure genre with a lively voice. Readers will be captivated.” - School Library Journal

“A sweet tale about something we all yearn for, whether we’re four-footed or two-footed: friendship and a place to call home.” - bestselling author Suzanne Selfors

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062685223
  • ISBN 10: 0062685228
  • Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books
  • On Sale: 02/13/2018
  • Pages: 208
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Wolves & Coyotes
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Baby Animals
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / General

A Pup Called Trouble by Bobbie Pyron

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.