Naomis Too

by Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich, Audrey Vernick

On Sale: 09/11/2018

Naomis Too

by Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich, Audrey Vernick

On Sale: 09/11/2018

Format:

About the Book

A heartfelt, sweet, social justice-themed ode to blended and unconventional families—perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Lisa Graff, and Sara Pennypacker.

In this sequel to Two Naomis, now that Naomi Marie’s mom and Naomi E.’s dad are married, the girls have learned to do a lot of things together, like All-Family Sunday dinners, sixth-grade homework, navigating the subway system by themselves, and visiting their favorite bakeries. Until sixth grade in a new school presents a whole new set of surprises and challenges.

Trusting her gut has worked for Naomi E. all her life, and she figures that it will be an asset to her role as a Peer Mediator—until she realizes how much of the job requires the Art of Compromise, which she’s only just starting to get used to at home.

Naomi Marie is excited about making new friends—but she wants to keep old ones too. And when she sees that some in the school community have a hard time with the realities of “diversity in action,” she wonders if the new members of her family can see those realities as well.

As the girls deal with the ups and downs of middle school and the mysteries of family dynamics, they learn that even when life and school try to drive you apart, it’s ultimately easier to face everything together.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“A sequel that packs as much heart, humor, and understanding as the first.” - Kirkus Reviews

Praise for TWO NAOMIS: “A smart, endearing story about two girls who are blending families, growing up, and building a friendship.” - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Praise for TWO NAOMIS: “This story of two families coming together is grounded and sweet...recommended for all children who appreciate realistic contemporary stories.” - Booklist (starred review)

Praise for TWO NAOMIS: “Warm, upbeat, and satisfying.” - Publishers Weekly

Praise for TWO NAOMIS: “A sweet coming-of-age story...Highly recommended” - School Library Journal

Praise for TWO NAOMIS: “Will resonate with young readers who have experienced a change in family dynamics, particularly divorce.” - The Horn Book

Praise for TWO NAOMIS: “Rhuday-Perkovich and Vernick hit all the right sister notes with hilarity and heart. Hopefully we have not heard the last of these two Naomis.” - Rita Williams-Garcia, Newbery Honor author of One Crazy Summer

Praise for TWO NAOMIS: “This book won my heart with its laughter, love, and achingly-beautiful longing. Rhuday-Perkovich and Vernick are masters of All The Feels.” - Tracey Baptiste, author of The Jumbies, a School Library Journal selection

Praise for TWO NAOMIS: “This is a sweet, modern story about friendship, divorce, and blended families, told from alternating POVs by the two different authors.” The Most Exciting Middle Grade Reads of Fall 2016 - Brightly.com

Praise for TWO NAOMIS: “Score one for blended families where race and mean-girl attitudes are not the issues, and where humor, compassion, and a shared love for baked goods bring people together.” - Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Praise for TEACH YOUR BUFFALO TO PLAY DRUMS: “Several small pictures appear on most pages, surrounded by ample white space, showing the huge animal trying to engage in human activities like skateboarding and showering, resulting in some very funny scenarios.” - School Library Journal

Praise for IS YOUR BUFFALO READY FOR KINDERGARTEN? “This story’s simple lesson about individuality is cleverly expressed through Vernick’s gentle wit and Jennewein’s crayon-outlined kindergartners-most of all, the furry and ungainly reader surrogate with whom kids will readily relate.” - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Praise for IS YOUR BUFFALO READY FOR KINDERGARTEN?: “As an embodiment of school anxiety, this buffalo leads the herd-plus, he’s got a hump.” - Kirkus Reviews

Praise for IS YOUR BUFFALO READY FOR KINDERGARTEN?: “Vernick’s amusing tale will prove handy as a first-day-of-school book recommendation for children and teachers alike.” - School Library Journal

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062685155
  • ISBN 10: 0062685155
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 09/11/2018
  • Pages: 320
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Stepfamilies
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Marriage & Divorce
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship

Naomis Too by Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich, Audrey Vernick

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.