Soulswift

by Megan Bannen

On Sale: 11/17/2020

Soulswift

Enlarge Book Cover

Soulswift

by Megan Bannen

On Sale: 11/17/2020

Format:

About the Book

A dark, epic fantasy about a girl who must rethink everything she believes after she is betrayed and hunted by the religion that raised her—from Megan Bannen, author of The Bird and the Blade. Perfect for fans of The Winner’s Curse and The Girl of Fire and Thorns.

Gelya is a Vessel, a girl who channels the word of the One True God through song. Cloistered with the other Vessels of her faith, she believes—as all Ovinists do—that a saint imprisoned Elath the Great Demon centuries ago, saving humanity from earthly temptation.

When Gelya stumbles into a deadly cover-up by the Ovinists’ military, she reluctantly teams up with Tavik, an enemy soldier, to survive. Tavik believes that Elath is actually a mother goddess who must be set free, but while he succeeds in opening Her prison, he inadvertently turns Gelya into Elath’s unwilling human vessel.

Now the church that raised Gelya considers her a threat. In a race against the clock, she and Tavik must find a way to exorcise Elath’s presence from her body. But will this release stop the countdown to the end of the world, or will it be the cause of the earth’s destruction?

And as Tavik and Gelya grow closer, another question lingers between them: What will become of Gelya?

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“An examination of faith, doubt, and trust wrapped inside a stirring fantasy plot….This deeply moving and thought-provoking adventure enthralls on multiple levels.” - Kirkus Reviews

Praise for THE BIRD AND THE BLADE: “Lavish, sweeping, and powerful…. A must-read for fans of heart-wrenching, sob-your-heart-out YA.” - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Praise for THE BIRD AND THE BLADE: “A rich, imaginative tale that delivers thrilling characters, heartstopping action, and exciting intrigue with every turn of the page.” - ALA Booklist

Praise for THE BIRD AND THE BLADE: “Will leave readers in tears” - School Library Journal

Praise for THE BIRD AND THE BLADE: “A magical and tragic romantic adventure.” - Publishers Weekly

Praise for THE BIRD AND THE BLADE: “Clever twists and narrative devices will make this novel a favorite.” - Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

Praise for THE BIRD AND THE BLADE: “The Bird and the Blade is a tale filled with magic and mystery. It will entrance you from the first page. Meticulously researched and beautifully executed, this story will linger long after you have finished reading.” - #1 NYT bestselling author Renèe Ahdieh

Praise for THE BIRD AND THE BLADE: “At once haunting and compelling, this tale of love and loalty will wreck you. Exquisite from the first note to the last.”
- Natalie C. Parker, author of Beware the Wild

Praise for THE BIRD AND THE BLADE: “The Bird and the Blade has everything I want in a novel: vivid characters, sumptuous prose, romance, funny dialogue, and a sweeping storyline in an intricately researched world. This story will break your heart—but it will remake it, too.”
- Rosalyn Eves, author of Blood Rose Rebellion

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062674180
  • ISBN 10: 0062674188
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 11/17/2020
  • Pages: 480
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Legends, Myths, Fables / General
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Historical
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Historical / Ancient Civilizations

Soulswift by Megan Bannen

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.