Scribbly

A Real Imaginary Friend Tale

by Ged Adamson

On Sale: 06/22/2021

Scribbly

A Real Imaginary Friend Tale

by Ged Adamson

illustrated by Ged Adamson

On Sale: 06/22/2021

Format:

About the Book

Imaginary friends are real friends.

When Maude moves to a new town, everything feels…okay. Things would feel just right if only she had a friend.

So, Maude draws a blue puppy and names him Scribbly.

He plays catch, takes naps, but most importantly, Scribbly teaches Maude the importance of staying true to herself and gives her the courage to meet new friends—both human and four-legged.

This heartfelt picture book from Ged Adamson, the creator of Shark Dog! and Ava and the Rainbow (Who Stayed) is perfect for fans of Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak, Harold and the Purple Crayon by Crockett Johnson, The Adventures of Beekle by Dan Santat, and The Rabbit Listened by Cori Doerrfeld.

Critical Praise

In a word: “scribbnificent.”  — Kirkus Reviews

A generous reminder of the values of understanding, self-confidence, and support for what others personally need as a comfort during trying times. — School Library Journal

A sunny, satisfying picture book. — Booklist

Kids expecting a situation where they’ll be forced to socialize with a new group will relate to Maude’s predicament... — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Readers and guardians alike will appreciate the charming canine friendship and compassionate parenting. — Publishers Weekly

Dogs, whether real or imagined, are a girl’s best friend in this book that may soothe social anxieties over being the new kid. — Horn Book Magazine

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062670823
  • ISBN 10: 0062670824
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 06/22/2021
  • Pages: 40
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / New Experience
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Imagination & Play
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Dogs

Scribbly by

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.