The Diamond and the Boy

The Creation of Diamonds & The Life of H. Tracy Hall

by Hannah Holt

On Sale: 10/02/2018

The Diamond and the Boy

The Creation of Diamonds & The Life of H. Tracy Hall

by Hannah Holt

illustrated by Jay Fleck

On Sale: 10/02/2018

Format:

About the Book

Told in a unique dual-narrative format, The Diamond and the Boy follows the stories of both natural diamond creation and the life of H. Tracy Hall, the inventor of a revolutionary diamond-making machine. Perfect for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer, and On a Beam of Light: A Story of Albert EinsteinThis nonfiction picture book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 4 to 6. It’s a fun way to learn to read and as a supplement for activity books for children.

Before a diamond is a gem, it’s a common gray rock called graphite. Through an intense trial of heat and pressure, it changes into one of the most valuable stones in the world.

Before Tracy Hall was an inventor, he was a boy—born into poverty, bullied by peers, forced to work at an early age. However, through education and experimentation, he became one of the brightest innovators of the twentieth century, eventually building a revolutionary machine that makes diamonds.

From debut author Hannah Holt—the granddaughter of Tracy Hall—and illustrator Jay Fleck comes this fascinating in-depth portrait of both rock and man.

Critical Praise

“A gem of a biography.” — Booklist (starred review)

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062659033
  • ISBN 10: 0062659030
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 10/02/2018
  • Pages: 40
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Technology / Inventions
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Science & Nature / Earth Sciences / Rocks & Minerals
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Biography & Autobiography / Science & Technology

The Diamond and the Boy by Hannah Holt

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.