The Turning

by Emily Whitman

On Sale: 08/25/2020

The Turning

Enlarge Book Cover

The Turning

by Emily Whitman

On Sale: 08/25/2020

Format:

About the Book

Winner of the Oregon Spirit Book Award

Does he belong to the land or to the sea?

Readers who loved Kelly Barnhill’s The Girl Who Drank the Moon and Pam Muñoz Ryan’s Echo will be transported to the place where the water and land meet in this exquisitely crafted coming-of-age tale about a selkie boy.

Aran has never truly fit in with his selkie clan. He was born in his human form, without a pelt to transform him into a sleek, strong seal. Each day he waits, left behind while his selkie family explores the deep ocean. What if his pelt never comes? Does the Moon even see him? Is he putting his clan at risk?

When his mother undertakes a journey to the far north to seek help, Aran is left in the care of a reclusive human woman on remote Spindle Island. Life on land is full of more wonders—and more dangers—than Aran could have ever imagined. Soon Aran will be forced to decide: will he fight for his place on land, or return to his home in the sea?

Critical Praise

“Whitman keeps the suspense high and delivers a satisfying conclusion. A wonderful selection for readers ready to dip their toes into variations on myths and legends without the mayhem and adult themes that often accompany the original tales.” — School Library Journal

“Whitman builds a beautiful slow burn with her evocative middle-grade debut. ...the many layers make for a satisfying read. A contemplative tale about the yearning to belong.” — Booklist

“A half-human, half-selkie boy searches for a way to belong. ...Told from Aran’s first-person point of view, the story goes smoothly...[a] well-conceived story.” — Kirkus Reviews

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062657961
  • ISBN 10: 0062657968
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 08/25/2020
  • Pages: 416
  • List Price:9.99 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Multigenerational
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / Survival Stories
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic

The Turning by Emily Whitman

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.