Spellhacker

by M. K. England

On Sale: 01/21/2020

Spellhacker

Enlarge Book Cover

Spellhacker

by M. K. England

On Sale: 01/21/2020

Format:

About the Book

From the author of The Disasters, this genre-bending YA fantasy heist story is perfect for fans of Marie Lu and Amie Kaufman.

In Kyrkarta, magic—known as maz—was once a freely available natural resource. Then an earthquake released a magical plague, killing thousands and opening the door for a greedy corporation to make maz a commodity that’s tightly controlled—and, of course, outrageously expensive.

Which is why Diz and her three best friends run a highly lucrative, highly illegal maz siphoning gig on the side. Their next job is supposed to be their last heist ever.

But when their plan turns up a powerful new strain of maz that (literally) blows up in their faces, they’re driven to unravel a conspiracy at the very center of the spellplague—and possibly save the world.

No pressure.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

"Joyfully queer. Buckle in for this high-speed, bighearted sci-fi/fantasy adventure." - Kirkus Reviews

“A bold and futuristic thrill ride with a dazzling blend of magic, mayhem, friendship, and heart.” - Jess Rothenberg, author of The Kingdom

Praise for The Disasters: “This laugh-out-loud sci-fi action-adventure will leave readers wanting more.” - School Library Journal

“If humankind requires saving, then this is the crew to do it.” - Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Much to recommend: nonstop cinematic action, strong feminist messages, and great diversity of characters.” - ALA Booklist

“An action-packed, entertaining blend of space hijinks, humor, and romance.” - Kirkus Reviews

“An explosion of edge-of-your-seat twists and high-stakes danger that leaves you glued to the page and rooting for these lovable misfits. I wanted a snarky romp across the galaxy, and M.K. England delivered with the force of a supernova.” - Ashley Poston, author of Geekerella and Heart of Iron

“A clever, cosmic thrill ride packed with nonstop action and starring a motley crew that won me over from page one. Just too much fun!” - Mackenzi Lee, New York Times bestselling author of A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue

“Wildly entertaining and crackling with chemistry. Nax and his crew will crash land in your heart and leave you filled with laughter and hope.” - Kerri Maniscalco, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Escaping from Houdini

“A BLAST from start to finish! Absurd levels of fun, fantastic pacing, and lovable authentic characters bring this rollicking adventure to life. Looking for a book you can’t put down? Pick up The Disasters. Mission accomplished.” - Katherine Locke, author of The Girl with the Red Balloon (2018 Sydney Taylor Honor Book)

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062657701
  • ISBN 10: 0062657704
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 01/21/2020
  • Pages: 416
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / General
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / LGBT
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Science Fiction / General

Spellhacker by M. K. England

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.