All the Things We Never Knew

by Liara Tamani

On Sale: 06/09/2020

All the Things We Never Knew

Enlarge Book Cover

All the Things We Never Knew

by Liara Tamani

On Sale: 06/09/2020

Format:

About the Book

“Tamani masterfully bounces and slams two hearts up and down a shrouded court of first love and revelations. A hard-to-put-down backboard-breaker.”—Rita Williams-Garcia, National Book Award Finalist and New York Times–bestselling author

From the moment Carli and Rex first locked eyes on a Texas high school basketball court, they both knew it was destiny. But can you truly love someone else if you don’t love yourself? Acclaimed author Liara Tamani’s luminous second novel explores love, family, heartbreak, betrayal, and the power of healing, in gorgeous prose that will appeal to readers of Nicola Yoon and Jacqueline Woodson.

A glance was all it took. That kind of connection, the immediate and raw understanding of another person, just doesn’t come along very often. And as rising stars on their Texas high schools’ respective basketball teams, destined for bright futures in college and beyond, it seems like a match made in heaven. But Carli and Rex have secrets. As do their families.

Liara Tamani, the author of the acclaimed Calling My Name, follows two Black teenagers as they discover how first love, heartbreak, betrayal, and family can shape you—for better or for worse. A novel full of pain, joy, healing, and hope for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jacqueline Woodson, and Jenny Han.

“A beautifully poignant love letter: to a first love, to basketball, and to that enigmatic bunch we think we know best, only to discover we don’t know at all—family. Tamani’s latest is a bright shining star.”—David Arnold, New York Times–bestselling author of Mosquitoland

 

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Two promising Texas basketball players navigate the ups and downs of first love. . . . Funny, smart, and unflinchingly candid. . . . A superb, complex romance full of heart, humor, and unforgettable characters.” - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Tamani masterfully bounces and slams two hearts up and down a shrouded court of first love and revelations. A hard-to-put-down backboard breaker.” - Rita Williams-Garcia, National Book Award finalist and New York Times–bestselling author

“A beautifully poignant love letter: to a first love, to basketball, and to that enigmatic bunch we think we know best, only to discover we don’t know at all—family. Tamani’s latest is a bright shining star.” - David Arnold, New York Times–bestselling author of Mosquitoland

“Liara Tamani’s All the Things We Never Knew is a bighearted, beautiful exploration of fate, family, and the glorious magic of love.” - Elana K. Arnold, National Book Award Finalist and Printz Honor winner

“[Tamani’s characters] experience their first love, struggle through polarizing feelings about basketball, and witness the consequences of hiding secrets. . . . A deep dive into the glory and mess of new relationships . . . Engaging.” - School Library Journal

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062656919
  • ISBN 10: 0062656910
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 06/09/2020
  • Pages: 384
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / Marriage & Divorce
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Basketball

All the Things We Never Knew by Liara Tamani

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.