All the Things We Never Knew

by Liara Tamani

On Sale: 06/09/2020

All the Things We Never Knew

Enlarge Book Cover

All the Things We Never Knew

by Liara Tamani

On Sale: 06/09/2020

Format:

Kirkus Reviews Best Books of 2020

About the Book

“Tamani masterfully bounces and slams two hearts up and down a shrouded court of first love and revelations.”—Rita Williams-Garcia, National Book Award Finalist and New York Times-bestselling author

“A superb, complex romance full of heart, humor, and unforgettable characters.”—Kirkus (starred review)

A glance was all it took. That kind of connection, the immediate and raw understanding of another person, just doesn't come along very often. And as rising stars on their Texas high schools' respective basketball teams, destined for bright futures in college and beyond, it seems like a match made in heaven. But Carli and Rex have secrets. As do their families.

Liara Tamani, the author of the acclaimed Calling My Name, follows two teenagers as they discover how first love, heartbreak, betrayal, and family can shape you—for better or for worse. A novel full of pain, joy, healing, and hope for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jacqueline Woodson, and Jenny Han.

“A beautifully poignant love letter: to a first love, to basketball, and to that enigmatic bunch we think we know best, only to discover we don't know at all—family. Tamani's latest is a bright shining star.”—David Arnold, New York Times-bestselling author of Mosquitoland

Critical Praise

“Two promising Texas basketball players navigate the ups and downs of first love. . . . Funny, smart, and unflinchingly candid. . . . A superb, complex romance full of heart, humor, and unforgettable characters.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Through poetic, economic prose and alternating points of view, Tamani evokes myriad emotions . . . Readers will be easily swept away by this tale exploring the hearts and souls of two emotionally vulnerable athletes.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A masterpiece of a book . . . [and] a poignant love story . . . Tamani’s characters are well drawn, her prose is gorgeous, and the imagery is lush. All The Things We Never Knew is a novel that will take readers on a deep dive of what it means to fall in love and grow as a person amidst turmoil.” — Booklist (starred review)

“Tamani masterfully bounces and slams two hearts up and down a shrouded court of first love and revelations. A hard-to-put-down backboard breaker.” — Rita Williams-Garcia, National Book Award finalist and New York Times–bestselling author

“A beautifully poignant love letter: to a first love, to basketball, and to that enigmatic bunch we think we know best, only to discover we don’t know at all—family. Tamani’s latest is a bright shining star.” — David Arnold, New York Times–bestselling author of Mosquitoland

“Liara Tamani’s All the Things We Never Knew is a bighearted, beautiful exploration of fate, family, and the glorious magic of love.” — Elana K. Arnold, National Book Award Finalist and Printz Honor winner

“[Tamani’s characters] experience their first love, struggle through polarizing feelings about basketball, and witness the consequences of hiding secrets. . . . A deep dive into the glory and mess of new relationships . . . Engaging.” — School Library Journal

“Carli and Rex have promising basketball careers ahead of them, but their whirlwind romance is challenged by loss, grief and the pressure to succeed. All the Things We Never Knew offers a raw, honest portrait of the bond between two teens on and off the court.” — BookPage

"Basketball star Rex Carrington blows his customary kiss . . . . [and] Carli mistakenly thinks it’s meant for her—right before she passes out from a gallbladder attack. . . . Carli and Rex thrust readers into the intensity of first love, dreams of bright futures, and the hope of happily ever after. However . . . the realities of each of their lives encroach upon their relationship. . . . This romance stands out because of its sensitive Black characters . . . who revel in their naïve teenage notions of love and experience all the volatility of adolescence.” — Horn Book Magazine

“Utterly relatable . . . Instantaneous fireworks soon lead to a deeper journey of self-discovery . . . Rex and Carli’s romance — told through tight, dueling point-of-view chapters — will stick with you.” — Austin American Statesman

“Liara Tamani offers a deeply layered portrait of young love in her dazzling All the Things We Never Knew. She captures both the adrenaline rush of all-encompassing emotion and the deeper joys of being seen for who you truly are. . . . All the Things We Never Knew should cement her star status.” — Austin American Statesman (Entertainment & Life)

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062656919
  • ISBN 10: 0062656910
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 06/09/2020
  • Pages: 384
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Contemporary
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Sports & Recreation / Basketball
  • BISAC4 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / Marriage & Divorce

All the Things We Never Knew by Liara Tamani

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.