My Plain Jane

by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows

On Sale: 06/26/2018

My Plain Jane

by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows

On Sale: 06/26/2018

Format:

About the Book

Move over, Charlotte Brontë. The authors of the New York Times bestselling My Lady Jane are back with an irreverent spin on Jane Eyre—a tale of mischief, romance, and supernatural mayhem perfect for fans of The Princess Bride or A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.

You may think you know the story. Penniless orphan Jane Eyre begins a new life as a governess at Thornfield Hall, where she meets one dark, brooding Mr. Rochester—and, Reader, she marries him. Or does she?

Prepare for an adventure of Gothic proportions, in which all is not as it seems, a certain gentleman is hiding more than skeletons in his closets, and one orphan Jane Eyre, aspiring author Charlotte Bronte, and supernatural investigator Alexander Blackwood are about to be drawn together on the most epic ghost hunt this side of Wuthering Heights.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

★ “Holds all the flavor of a juicy period novel yet with the addition of numerous, witty asides. Full of wry humor and laugh-out-loud commentary. The authors’ affection for their source material is abundantly clear in this clever, romantic farce.” - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

★ “A delightfully deadpan deconstruction of a Gothic novel, with a ghost almost no one can see providing the commentary. Marvelously self-aware and almost too clever for its own good.” - Booklist (starred review)

★ “A madcap story of ghosts, possession, revenge, and murder. Humorously blends fact with fiction and offers a gentler, more hopeful outcome for Charlotte, her siblings, and her heroine.” - School Library Journal (starred review)

“Reader, it delighted. A fun, supernatural mashup of different literary novels that shines on its own merit.” - Kirkus Reviews

PRAISE FOR MY LADY JANE: ★ “Wacky, irreverent, and just plain fun. This fantasy-adventure politely tips its hat to history before joyfully punting it out of the way. An utter delight.” - Booklist (starred review)

★ “An uproarious historical fantasy that’s not to be missed.” - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Gleefully anachronistic comedy.” - Kirkus Reviews

“Three cheers for this well-written and rollicking revision of history full of timely mannerisms and bold adventure. Those who enjoy clever humor, colorful fantasy, and light romance will savor each page.” - Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“The Tudors meets Monty Python. Prepare to laugh and gasp and clutch your pearls.” - Tahereh Mafi, New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series

“History, humor, and unexpected magic come together in this marvelous story.” - Jessica Day George, author of Silver in the Blood

“Adventure, intrigue, humor, and romance abound. A great choice for those who enjoy lighthearted, alternative history adventures.” - School Library Journal

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062652775
  • ISBN 10: 006265277X
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 06/26/2018
  • Pages: 464
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Romantic Comedy
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Historical
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Books & Libraries

My Plain Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.