Seven Deadly Shadows

by Courtney Alameda, Valynne E. Maetani

On Sale: 01/28/2020

Seven Deadly Shadows

Enlarge Book Cover

Seven Deadly Shadows

by Courtney Alameda, Valynne E. Maetani

On Sale: 01/28/2020

Format:

About the Book

This thrilling YA retelling of Kurosawa’s Seven Samurai features a girl tasked with saving the world from eternal darkness. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows and Marie Lu.

Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s bullied by the popular girls in school. Her parents ignore her. And she’s also plagued with a secret: She can see yokai, the ghosts and demons that haunt the streets of Kyoto.

But things accelerate from bad to worse when she learns that Shuten-doji, the demon king, will rise at the next blood moon to hunt down an ancient relic and bring the world to a catastrophic end.

Not exactly skilled at fighting anything, much less the dead, Kira enlists the aid of seven powerful death gods to help her slay Shuten-doji. They include Shiro, a kitsune with boy-band looks who is more flirtatious than helpful, and O-bei, a regal demon courtier with reasons of her own for getting involved.

As the confrontation with Shuten-doji draws nearer, the fate of Japan hangs in the balance. Can Kira save humankind? Or will the demon king succeed in bringing eternal darkness upon the world?

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Kira is a satisfying heroine, and her personal struggles between familial expectations and loyalty to the family shrine add complexity to her journey. Fresh urban fantasy grounded in Japanese culture.” - Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062570819
  • ISBN 10: 0062570811
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 01/28/2020
  • Pages: 384
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / General
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Paranormal, Occult & Supernatural
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Horror

Seven Deadly Shadows by Courtney Alameda, Valynne E. Maetani

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.