Seven Deadly Shadows

by Courtney Alameda, Valynne E. Maetani

On Sale: 01/28/2020

Seven Deadly Shadows

Enlarge Book Cover

Seven Deadly Shadows

by Courtney Alameda, Valynne E. Maetani

On Sale: 01/28/2020

Format:

About the Book

This thrilling YA retelling of Kurosawa's Seven Samurai features a girl tasked with saving the world from eternal darkness. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows and Marie Lu.

Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She's bullied by the popular girls in school. Her parents ignore her. And she's also plagued with a secret: She can see yokai, the ghosts and demons that haunt the streets of Kyoto.

But things accelerate from bad to worse when she learns that Shuten-doji, the demon king, will rise at the next blood moon to hunt down an ancient relic and bring the world to a catastrophic end.

Not exactly skilled at fighting anything, much less the dead, Kira enlists the aid of seven powerful death gods to help her slay Shuten-doji. They include Shiro, a kitsune with boy-band looks who is more flirtatious than helpful, and O-bei, a regal demon courtier with reasons of her own for getting involved.

As the confrontation with Shuten-doji draws nearer, the fate of Japan hangs in the balance. Can Kira save humankind? Or will the demon king succeed in bringing eternal darkness upon the world?

Critical Praise

“Kira is a satisfying heroine, and her personal struggles between familial expectations and loyalty to the family shrine add complexity to her journey. Fresh urban fantasy grounded in Japanese culture.” — Kirkus Reviews

"Kira is a distinctly Japanese character whose sensibilities are refreshingly un-Westernized. Fans of Julie Kagawa’s Shadow of the Fox and Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox will also appreciate the vivid, sometimes gruesome, writing reminiscent of punchy anime dialogue." — Publishers Weekly

“The arresting action and imagery are engrossing. Perfect for fans of Japanese folklore and manga similar to Death Note.” — Booklist

“Many cool monsters and some suspense keep the pages turning, with a bit of romance and banter.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062570819
  • ISBN 10: 0062570811
  • Imprint: Quill Tree Books
  • On Sale: 01/28/2020
  • Pages: 384
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Paranormal, Occult & Supernatural
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Horror
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / General

Seven Deadly Shadows by Courtney Alameda, Valynne E. Maetani

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.