You Don't Live Here

by Robyn Schneider

On Sale: 06/02/2020

You Don't Live Here

Enlarge Book Cover

You Don't Live Here

by Robyn Schneider

On Sale: 06/02/2020

Format:

About the Book

Robyn Schneider, author of The Beginning of Everything, delivers a witty and heartbreaking tale of first love, second beginnings, and last chances in this timely and authentic bisexual coming-of-age story, perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera.

In Southern California, no one lives more than thirty miles from the nearest fault line. Sasha Bloom is standing right on top of one when her world literally crumbles around her. With her mother now dead and father out of the picture, Sasha moves in with her estranged grandparents.

Living in her mom’s old bedroom, Sasha has no idea who she is anymore. Luckily, her grandparents are certain they know who she should be: A lawyer in the making. Ten pounds skinnier. In a socially advantageous relationship with a boy from a good family—a boy like Cole Edwards.

And Cole has ideas for who Sasha should be, too. His plus one at lunch. His girlfriend. His.

Sasha tries to make everything work, but that means folding away her love of photography, her grief for her mother, and he growing interest in the magnificently clever Lily Chen. Sasha wants to follow Lily off the beaten path, to discover hidden beaches, secret menus, and the truth about dinosaur pee.

But being friends with Lily might lead somewhere new. Is Sasha willing to stop being the girl everyone expects and let the girl beneath the surface breath through?

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

"Perennial teen themes of fitting in, self-discovery, and truth-telling [with a main character that] is bisexual. For teen readers who are slowly uncovering their own truths, the pace might feel appropriate." - Kirkus Reviews

"This is the book I wish I'd had when I was growing up. Robyn Schneider's thoughtful exploration of family, sexuality, and self is for anyone who's ever wondered who they are. You Don't Live Here will break your heart . . . and then put it back together again." - Amy Spalding, bestselling author of The Summer of Jordi Perez (and the Best Burger in Los Angeles)

"A vulnerable, funny, and deeply human story about learning to be who you truly are. Sasha Bloom is close to the author's heart and you can tell. Schneider lovingly guides her through loss, isolation, first love, and self-acceptance with remarkable skill — and plenty of hugs and high-fives along the way. Her best book yet.” - Tamara Ireland Stone, New York Times bestselling author of Every Last Word

"A heartfelt bisexual triumph, You Don't Live Here navigates grief and growing up with tenderness and charm. Sasha's high school journey is too real, and every emotion resonates."  - C.B. Lee, author of Not Your Sidekick

"In You Don't Live Here, Robyn Schneider writes about sexuality, self-discovery, and how to survive having a family with wit, charm, and remarkable tenderness. A perfect book for anyone who's ever found herself somewhere she never meant to end up-- and had to figure out how to make a home for herself there anyway. "  - Zan Romanoff, author of Grace and the Fever and Look

"This gorgeous story of romance and renewal nestled within the California coast is everything readers expect from Robyn Schneider and more, with a wonderfully human heart wrapped in witty, immersive writing. A uniquely personal novel from an inimitable voice." - Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka, authors of Always Never Yours

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062568113
  • ISBN 10: 0062568116
  • Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books
  • On Sale: 06/02/2020
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Contemporary
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / Multigenerational
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age

You Don't Live Here by Robyn Schneider

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.