Now Is Everything

by Amy Giles

On Sale: 11/07/2017

Read a Sample Enlarge Book Cover

Now Is Everything

by Amy Giles

On Sale: 11/07/2017

Format:

About the Book

* A Bank Street Best Children's Book of 2017 *

Read the book New York Times bestselling author Amber Smith calls “powerful and haunting,” and acclaimed author Peter Brown Hoffmeister calls “beautiful and sad.”

Now Is Everything is a stirring debut novel told in alternating THEN and NOW chapters, perfect for Sarah Dessen and Jennifer Niven fans, about what one girl is willing to do to protect her past, present, and future.

The McCauleys look perfect on the outside. But nothing is ever as it seems, and this family is hiding a dark secret.

Hadley McCauley will do anything to keep her sister safe from their father. But when Hadley’s forbidden relationship with Charlie Simmons deepens, the violence at home escalates, culminating in an explosive accident that will leave everyone changed.

When Hadley attempts to take her own life at the hospital post-accident, her friends, doctors, family, and the investigator on the case want to know why. Only Hadley knows what really happened that day, and she’s not talking.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Powerful and haunting, Now is Everything explores the complexities of family and abuse, as we follow one girl on her courageous journey to choose love over hate and hope over fear.” - Amber Smith, New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used to Be

“Hadley is living the hidden, complex life that so many young people know - a teenager trapped inside her dysfunctional family. This beautiful and sad book will push you toward an unexpected conclusion. You won’t be able to put this novel down.” - Peter Brown Hoffmeister, author of Too Shattered For Mending

“An incredibly powerful and moving debut that is not to be missed, Now is Everything tackles the tragic reality and heartbreak of familial abuse that will haunt you long after you’ve turned the last page. This book is a must read.” - Erin L. Schneider, author of Summer of Sloane

Now is Everything is equal parts heartbreaking, unflinching, and hopeful. Hadley’s story will no doubt reach readers who need it.” - Kara Thomas, author of The Darkest Corners and Little Monsters

“NOW IS EVERYTHING is a gripping, suspenseful, and moving story that asks the question: what are you willing to do for the people you love? Both heart-breaking and heart-restoring, this book grabbed me from the very first line and never let go.” - Robin Roe, author of A List of Cages

“…[P]alpable despair and desperation, conveyed in well-paced first-person chapters, increase the tension as the truth of the accident slowly emerges. A tragic exploration of why people sometimes protect their abusers.” - Kirkus Reviews

“Giles’ debut is impeccably paced with deep, well-rounded characters that propel the reader through…a story that is relatable and emotionally investing. Once readers pick up Hadley’s story, they will have difficulty putting it down, desperately rooting for her to win. An admirably crafted debut that will haunt readers.” - Booklist (starred review)

“A thoughtful and poignant story with a strong narrative arc and well-crafted, realistic characters.” - Publishers Weekly

“The novel develops with an intensity that will both shock and haunt readers. [T]his reviewer felt like sending Giles a thank-you card for providing such an unforgettable experience. This is a must-purchase for all libraries and will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen or John Green.” - Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“[U]nfolds in alternating “then” and “now” chapters, creating a compelling mystery, which will hook curious, as well as reluctant, readers. Main and minor characters alike are fully fleshed and authentic, each with their own flaws. VERDICT A must-have for collections where thrillers and realistic fiction are popular.” - School Library Journal

“A painful, powerful and necessary read that is tinged with hope.” - BookPage.com

“This is a heartbreaking and sensitively told story that readers won’t soon forget.” - Bookish.com

“The book effectively depicts the relentless fear and secrecy that overcomes young people and adults alike when faced with abusive relationships; a note with provides resources for those dealing with domestic abuse.” - Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“NOW IS EVERYTHING is a wonderfully crafted novel that will leave you speechless, and is perfect for fans of Robin Roe’s A LIST OF CAGES.” - Teenreads.com

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062495730
  • ISBN 10: 0062495739
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 11/07/2017
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Physical & Emotional Abuse (see also Social Themes / Sexual Abuse)
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / Siblings
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Contemporary

Now Is Everything by Amy Giles

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.