The New David Espinoza

by Fred Aceves

On Sale: 02/11/2020

The New David Espinoza

Enlarge Book Cover

The New David Espinoza

by Fred Aceves

On Sale: 02/11/2020

Format:

About the Book

This own voices story from the acclaimed author of The Closest I’ve Come unflinchingly examines steroid abuse and male body dysmorphia. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Matt De La Peña.

David Espinoza is tired of being messed with. When a video of him getting knocked down by a bully’s slap goes viral at the end of junior year, David vows to use the summer to bulk up— do what it takes to become a man—and wow everyone when school starts again the fall.

Soon David is spending all his time and money at Iron Life, a nearby gym that’s full of bodybuilders. Frustrated with his slow progress, his life eventually becomes all about his muscle gains. As it says on the Iron Life wall, What does not kill me makes me stronger.

As David falls into the dark side of the bodybuilding world, pursuing his ideal body at all costs, he’ll have to grapple with the fact that it could actually cost him everything.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“A much-needed novel about steroid addiction from the point of view of a high school boy who’s the victim of bullying.” - School Library Journal (starred review)

"Searing and thoughtful." - Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062489883
  • ISBN 10: 0062489887
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 02/11/2020
  • Pages: 336
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Eating Disorders & Body Image
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Bullying
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Drugs, Alcohol, Substance Abuse

The New David Espinoza by Fred Aceves

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.