As She Ascends

by Jodi Meadows

On Sale: 09/11/2018

Read a Sample Enlarge Book Cover

As She Ascends

by Jodi Meadows

On Sale: 09/11/2018

Format:

About the Book

“A fiercely imagined world!” —Mary E. Pearson, New York Times bestselling author of the Remnant Chronicles

From the New York Times bestselling co-author of My Plain Jane comes the second book in a smoldering fantasy trilogy about a girl who must embrace her latent power or lose the dragons she loves. Perfect for fans of Julie Kagawa and Kendare Blake.

Mira the Dragonhearted is on the run with her friends following a fiery escape from the prison where she’d been condemned for speaking out against dragon trafficking.

And she wants answers. Has the treaty she’s been defending her whole life truly sold out the Fallen Isles to their enemies? Did her own parents lie to her? Will she lose control of her power and hurt the ones she loves?

The only way to find the truth is to go home again, to face the people who betrayed her and the parents she’s not sure she can trust. Home, where she must learn to rise above her fears. Or be consumed.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

Praise for Before She Ignites: “...fast-paced, with surprising twists and turns. This richly written fantasy—the first in a trilogy—will keep readers asking whom to trust and wondering what’s true.” - School Library Journal

“The complex political system is compellingly built, and Mira’s characterization is admirable. Hand to fans of rich world building—and, of course, fans of dragons.” - ALA Booklist

“Meadows portrays acutely Mira’s insecurities about not living up to the demands of her station or to her mother’s expectations…while exploring issues of inclusivity and discrimination. Fans of Naomi Novik’s Temeraire series or Julie Kagawa’s Talon books will be delighted.” - Publishers Weekly

“Meadows weaves a taut narrative of loss, betrayal, and friendship, building a politically and environmentally fascinating world that readers who are looking for fantasies that center on people of color will especially appreciate.” - Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

 “Meadows sows the seeds for an exciting follow-up and creates a rich, vivid world with characters who blossom on the page…. A page-turner that promises future intrigue, special powers, and dragon adventures.” - Kirkus Reviews

“Mira is a fascinating and flawed heroine who tilts the world on its side. I loved her and this fiercely imagined world.” - Mary Pearson, New York Times bestselling author of The Remnant Chronicles

“A fully realized fantasy world complete with dragons, treachery, and flawed characters discovering their courage. I couldn’t put it down!” - C .J. Redwine, New York Times bestselling author of The Shadow Queen

“Complex world-building and luminous storytelling. Mira will sear a mark on your heart long after the final page is consumed.” - Stacey Lee, award-winning author of Outrun the Moon and The Secret of a Heart Note

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062469434
  • ISBN 10: 0062469436
  • Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books
  • On Sale: 09/11/2018
  • Pages: 560
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Epic
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / General
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Action & Adventure / Survival Stories

As She Ascends by Jodi Meadows

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.