Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches

by Kate Scelsa

On Sale: 05/31/2022

Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches

Enlarge Book Cover

Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches

by Kate Scelsa

On Sale: 05/31/2022

Format:

About the Book

A witchy, atmospheric lesbian contemporary romance set in Salem—from the acclaimed author of Fans of the Impossible Life. Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Becky Albertalli.

Seventeen-year-old Eleanor is the last person in Salem to believe in witchcraft—or to think that her life could be transformed by mysterious forces. After losing her best friend and first love, Chloe, Eleanor has spent the past year in a haze, vowing to stay away from anything resembling romance.

But when a handwritten guide to tarot arrives in the mail at the witchy souvenir store where Eleanor works, it seems to bring with it the message that magic is about to enter her life. Cynical Eleanor is quick to dismiss this promise, until real-life witch Pix shows up with an unusual invitation. Inspired by the magic and mystery of the tarot, Eleanor decides to open herself up to Pix and her coven of witches, and even to the possibility of a new romance.

But Eleanor’s complicated history continues to haunt her. She will have to reckon with the old ghosts that threaten to destroy everything, even her chance at new love.

Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches is an atmospheric and romantic coming-of-age about learning to make peace with the past in order to accept the beauty of the present.

Critical Praise

“Scelsa explores public opinion and self-perception alongside themes of forgiveness, relational toxicity, and commercialism. Symbolic magic lends an underlying sense of enchantment as Eleanor opens herself up to new ideas and possibilities, and a sweet, gentle central chemistry sells the central romance.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Magic is found through personal growth and accepting love in this enchanting tale.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“In Salem, everyone has secrets, and two teenagers struggle to keep their fledgling relationship alive through Eleanor’s past, and Pix’s best intentions in this charming, heartrending LGBTQIA+ YA.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

“Cleverly arranged as a journey through the Major Arcana of a tarot deck, this is a queer romance [with] a witchy flourish.” — ALA Booklist

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062465030
  • ISBN 10: 0062465031
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 05/31/2022
  • Pages: 320
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / LGBT
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Wizards & Witches
  • BISAC4 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Religious / Agnostic & Atheist
  • BISAC5 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Death & Dying
  • BISAC6 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship

Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches by Kate Scelsa

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.